Nashville Welcomes Dillon and Silverstein to Songwriters Hall of Fame

Posted in News on November 3, 2002
BMI Award-winners Dean Dillon and the late Shel Silverstein are the newest additions to the Nashville Songwriters Hall of Fame. Dillon and Silverstein, along with Bob Dylan, were inducted November 3 during annual ceremonies conducted by the Nashville Songwriters Foundation at Loews Vanderbilt Plaza Hotel in Nashville.

Phillip White, Craig Wiseman, Bobby Braddock, Billy Montana, D. Vincent Williams, Chris Wallin, Troy Verges, Bruce Robison, Helen Darling, NSAI's Bart Herbison, Dean Dillon, Jim Collins, Wood Newton, and Thom Shepherd

Singer/songwriters Bobby Bare and Don Henry revived favorites from Silverstein’s catalog, which includes “A Boy Named Sue,” “Marie Laveaux,” “The Unicorn,” “Queen Of The Silver Dollar,” “Sylvia’s Mother” and “The Cover Of The Rolling Stone.”

BMI President and CEO Frances W. Preston, Dean Dillon, and Waylon Holyfield

Leslie Satcher and George Strait treated the audience to a sampling of Dillon’s many hits, a collection that includes “Homecoming ’63,” “All The Good Ones Are Gone,” “Set ’Em Up Joe,” “The Chair,” “Nobody In His Right Mind Would Have Left Her,” “Unwound” and “Ocean Front Property.”

George Strait

In conjunction with the Hall of Fame inductions, the Nashville Songwriters Association International (NSAI) conferred a series of Songwriter Achievement Awards. The NSAI Songwriter of the Year prize went to BMI's Troy Verges, who placed four songs among the top 40 vote-getters -- Jessica Andrews’ “Who I Am,” Martina McBride’s “Blessed,” Trisha Yearwood’s “I Would’ve Loved You Anyway” and Andy Griggs’ “Tonight I Wanna Be Your Man."

Phillip White, FP, Troy Verges, Waylon Holyfield, Dean Dillon, D. Vincent Williams

In addition to naming Songwriter of the Year, the writers of NSAI’s Professional Songwriters Division also honored 10 songs with 2002 Achievement Awards (informally dubbed “The Songs I Wish I’d Written”). “I’m Movin’ On,” by BMI writers Phillip White and D. Vincent Williams was named Song of the Year. Other BMI winners were Bruce Robison for “Angry All The Time,” Billy Montana and Helen Darling for “Bring On The Rain," Bobby Braddock for “I Wanna Talk About Me,” Jeffrey Steele for “I’m Tryin’,” Mark Sherrill, Don Goodman, James Bohon for “Ol’ Red," Wood Newton for “Riding With Private Malone" and Jim Collins for “The Good Stuff."

Bruce Robison, David Preston, Chuck Cannon, Kelly Willis

Troy Verges, Chuck Cannon


The Weekly

Each week, Learn, Listen, Watch, Discover and Share with BMI! From must-see videos, to creative inspiration and dynamic playlists we’re excited about, BMI’s The Weekly is dedicated to delivering specially curated content designed for music creators and music fans alike!

Join BMI Live

BMI Live
Back to Top