BMI Salutes Our Songwriters’ Hall Inductees

Posted in News on June 13, 2000

BMI proudly salutes our 2000 Songwriters' Hall of Fame inductees Brian Wilson, James Brown, Glenn Frey and Don Henley, Curtis Mayfield (posthumous), Julian Aberbach (Abe Olman Publisher Award) and Jimmie Davis (Towering Song Award for "You Are My Sunshine").

James Brown

Jimmie Davis

Curtis Mayfield

Presented by the National Academy of Popular Music (NAPM), the 31st Annual Songwriters' Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony and Dinner will take place on Thursday, June 15 at the New York Sheraton Hotel & Towers. The gala evening will feature many talented performers and presenters including BMI songwriter/artists Carole King, Aaron Neville and JD Souther.

Photos from the event:

BMI songwriter Carole King stops for a chat in the press room of the Sheraton Hotel with Songwriters' Hall of Fame inductee and fellow BMI songwriter Brian Wilson.
BMI's Frances Preston is shown chatting with legendary jazz stylist Keely Smith who sang the Hall of Fame's Towering Song, "You Are My Sunshine," written by BMI songwriter Jimmie Davis.

BMI's Del Bryant shares a moment with Sony Music executive and well-known producer Peter Asher.
BMI songwriter J.D. Souther (c), co-writer of many of the Eagles hits, accepted the induction award on behalf of Don Henley and Glenn Frey and performed their collaborative song "Best of My Love." Pictured are BMI's Fred Cannon and Charlie Feldman, Souther, BMI's Frances Preston, and BMI songwriter Aaron Neville.


The Weekly

Each week, Learn, Listen, Watch, Discover and Share with BMI! From must-see videos, to creative inspiration and dynamic playlists we’re excited about, BMI’s The Weekly is dedicated to delivering specially curated content designed for music creators and music fans alike!

Join BMI Live

BMI Live
Back to Top