tobyMac Leads List of 2011 GMA Dove Award Nominees

Posted in News on February 22, 2011

In a clear nod to the diversity and depth of the BMI repertoire, BMI Christian and gospel songwriters earned an overwhelming number of the 2011 GMA Dove Awards nominations, announced Wednesday, February 16. With six nods, BMI trendsetter tobyMac leads the pack: He was tapped in the Artist of the Year field, while his “Get Back Up,” which he also co-wrote, will vie for Song of the Year.

Soulful BMI crooner Jason Crabb follows closely with five nominations, including a Song of the Year nod for “I Cry,” written by Gerald Crabb, as well as Male Vocalist and Artist of the Year. With four nominations, Pastor Marvin Sapp will also vie for Male Vocalist and Artist of the Year.

Super producer/songwriter Ed Cash garnered nods that include Song of the Year for co-writing “Starry Night” and the prestigious Producer of the Year title. Serial hit-maker Wayne Haun is also up for Producer of the Year, as well as Song of the Year for Triumphant Quartet’s “Love Came Calling,” which Haun co-wrote with Joel Lindsey. Israel Houghton landed two nominations as well, including Male Vocalist of the Year. As a testament to the power of her breakout year, Audrey Assad was tapped in both the New Artist and Female Vocalist of the Year fields.

Southern gospel favorites Ernie Haase & Signature Sound earned nods for both Artist and Group of the Year. Sidewalk Prophets are also celebrating a Group of the Year nomination, as are pop/rock outfit NEEDTOBREATHE. Fresh family group Forever Jones garnered a New Artist of the Year nod as well.

Additional Song of the Year nominees include “Beautiful, Beautiful,” co-written by Andrew Fromm; “Hold My Heart,” co-written by Phillip LaRue; Sanctus Real’s “Lead Me”; and “Our God,” co-written by Jonas Myrin and Jesse Reeves.

The 42nd GMA Dove Awards will be staged at the Fox Theatre in Atlanta for the first time in the show’s history on Wednesday, April 20. A complete list of BMI nominees will be posted soon. For more information, visit

2011 GMA Dove Awards
BMI Nominees

Song of the Year
“Beautiful, Beautiful”
Co-written by Andrew Fromm
Published by Universal Music/Z Songs/ Ocean at Night Music (BMI)

“Get Back Up”
Co-written by tobyMac
Published by Achtober Songs (BMI)

“Hold My Heart”
Co-written by Phillip LaRue

“Lead Me”
Sanctus Real

“Love Came Calling”
Triumphant Quartet
Written by Wayne Haun and Joel Lindsey
PsalmSinger Music/Bridge Building Music/Hefton Hill Music (BMI)

“Our God”
Co-written by Jonas Myrin and Jesse Reeves

“Sometimes I Cry”
Jason Crabb
Written by Gerald Crabb
Published by Christian Taylor Music (BMI)

“Starry Night”
Co-written by Ed Cash
Published by Alletrop Music (BMI)

Male Vocalist of the Year
Jason Crabb
Israel Houghton
Marvin Sapp

Female Vocalist of the Year
Audrey Assad

Group of the Year Nominations
Ernie Haase & Signature Sound
Sidewalk Prophets

Artist of the Year Nominations
Jason Crabb
Ernie Haase & Signature Sound
Marvin Sapp

New Artist of the Year Nominations
Audrey Assad
Forever Jones

Producer of the Year
Ed Cash
Wayne Haun