The Band Perry Leads BMI Surge at 2011 MusicRow Awards

Posted in News on June 22, 2011
Breakthrough Artist winners the Band Perry perform Song of the Year MusicRow Awards in Nashville" class="img-roundedentry pinthis">
Breakthrough Artist winners the Band Perry perform Song of the Year "If I Die Young" at the 2011 MusicRow Awards in Nashville Photo: Alan Mayor, courtesy of MusicRow magazine

The Band Perry led BMI’s domination of the 2011 MusicRow Awards, handed out Tuesday, June 21 in Nashville. The Band Perry front woman Kimberly Perry earned the Breakthrough Songwriter trophy; her composition “If I Die Young,” the trio’s debut single that topped country charts and has since achieved double platinum sales, claimed Song of the Year honors. The family band, which comprises Kimberly and her brothers and fellow BMI songwriters Neil and Reid Perry, was also crowned Breakthrough Artist. The wins mark the first time in MusicRow Awards history that one act has walked away with all three honors.

In addition to underscoring the scope of the Band Perry’s rocket launch of a year, the awards also underline the growing strength of BMI’s country repertoire. A new generation of country songwriters is ready to soar, and they are overwhelmingly choosing BMI.

BMI songwriters also earned several of the Top Ten Album All-Stars awards, presented to studio wizards whose names are familiar to students of Nashville’s contemporary sound. Drummer Shannon Forrest, engineer Justin Niebank, fiddle player Jonathan Yudkin and vocalist Wes Hightower were all recognized for their behind-the-scenes magic.

A special plaque was also presented to MusicRow magazine founder David Ross, celebrating 30 years of his leadership of Nashville’s must-read music industry publication.

The MusicRow Awards are determined annually by the votes from the publication’s readers.

2011 Music Row Awards
BMI Winners

Breakthrough Artist
The Band Perry

Breakthrough Songwriter
Kimberly Perry, “If I Die Young”

Song of the Year
“If I Die Young”
Written by Kimberly Perry
Published by Pearlfeather, Rio Bravo

Top Ten Album All-Stars
Shannon Forrest – Drums
Justin Niebank – Engineer
Jonathan Yudkin – Fiddle
Wes Hightower – Vocals


The Weekly

Each week, Learn, Listen, Watch, Discover and Share with BMI! From must-see videos, to creative inspiration and dynamic playlists we’re excited about, BMI’s The Weekly is dedicated to delivering specially curated content designed for music creators and music fans alike!

Join BMI Live

BMI Live
Back to Top