Calle 13 Leads List of 2009 Latin Grammy Nominations

Posted in News on October 1, 2009

Puerto Rican hip-hop heavy weights Calle 13 lead the list of nominees for the 2009 Latin Grammys, slated for November 5 at the Mandalay Bay Events Center in Las Vegas. The cross-genre duo earned an impressive five nominations, including Album and Best Urban Album of the Year for Los de Atrás Vienen Conmigo, Record of the Year and Best Alternative Song for “No Hay Nadie Como Tú.”

Caetano Veloso and Wisin & Yandel each scored three nominations. Veloso will vie for the Best Singer-Songwriter statuette thanks to Zii E Zie, along with Best Brazilian Song for his “A Cor Amarela” and Best Long Form Music Video for “E a Música de Tom Jobim.” Duo Wisin & Yandel’s La Revolucion garnered a nod for Best Urban Music Album, while “Abusadora,” co-written with Marcos Masis “Tainy,” and “Mujeres in the Club,” co-written with Ernesto F. Padilla “Nesty La Mente Maestra,” were each tapped for Urban Song of the Year.

Numerous other members of the BMI Latin family, spanning reggaetón royalty and alt-rock trendsetters, powerhouse producers and elite songwriters, also garnered two nominations each, and included alternative rock favorites Café Tacvba, reggaetón singer/rapper Don Omar, top-tier producer Sergio George, ace songwriter Jorge Villamizar, and promising rising star Luz Ríos.

For more information on the 2009 Latin Grammy Awards, please visit

View a complete list of BMI 2009 Latin Grammy nominees in Spanish.

BMI Nominees for the 10th Annual Latin Grammy Awards

Record of the Year
“No Hay Nadie Como Tu”
Calle 13 con Café Tacvba
Engineer/mixer Omar Vivoni

“Aquí Estoy Yo”
Producer Sebastian Krys

“En Cambio No”
Engineer/mixer Steve Lyon

Album of the Year
Los De Atrás Vienen Conmigo
Calle 13

Producer Sergio George

Cantora 1
Engineers/mixers Gustavo Celis and Anibal Kerpel

Song of the Year
“Yo No Sé Mañana”
Co-written by Jorge Villamizar

Best New Artist
Luz Ríos

Best Female Pop Vocal Album
Día Azul
Jimena Ángel

Luz Ríos

Best Urban Music Album
Los de Atrás Vienen Conmigo
Calle 13

Don Omar

La Revolucion
Wisin & Yandel

Best Urban Song
Co-written by Marcos Masis “Tainy”, with Wisin & Yandel

“Llamado de Emergencia”
Co-written by Eduardo Luis Lopez and Eliezer Garcia

“Mujeres in the Club”
Co-written by Ernesto F. Padilla “Nesty La Mente Maestra”, with Wisin & Yandel

“Sexy Robótica”
Written by Don Omar

Best Rock Solo Vocal Album
Draco Rosa

Best Rock Album by a Duo or Group with Vocal

Best Alternative Music Album

Coba Coba

Best Alternative Song
Más Fuerte”
Co-written by Cucu Diamantes

“No Hay Nadie Como Tú”
Co-written by Rubén Albarrán Ortega, Eduardo Cabral, Emmanuel Del Real Díaz, Enrique Rangel Arroyo and Jose Alfredo Rangel Arroyo

Best Salsa Album
Oscar D’León

Best Tropical Song
“Esa Muchachita”
Co-written by Juan Vicente Zambrano

“No Vale la Pena”
Co-written by Alberto Gaitán and Ricardo Gaitán

“Yo No Sé Mañana”
Co-written by Jorge Villamizar

Best Singer-Songwriter Album
Zii E Zie
Caetano Veloso

Best Ranchero Album
Mariachi Reyna de Los Angeles

Mexicano Hasta Las Pampas
Diego Verdaguer

Best Tejano Album
The Legend Continues…La Continuacion
Jimmy González y Grupo Mazz

Grupo Vida

Joel Guzman and Sarah Fox

All the Way Live!
Jay Pérez

Best Norteño Album

Sólo Contigo
Grupo Pesado

Mi Complemento
Los Huracanes del Norte

Amor Aventurero
Los Invasores de Nuevo León

Pese a Quien le Pese
Los Rieleros del Norte

Best Regional Mexican Song
“Almas Gemelas”
Co-written by Santa Benith

Co-written by Espinoza Paz

“Se Fue Mi Amor”
Co-written by Mario Quintero Lara

Best Instrumental Album
Carlos Franzetti & Eddie Gómez

Live at Caramoor
Jovino Santos Neto

Across the Divide
Omar Sosa

Moving Forward
Bernie Williams

Best Latin Jazz Album
Kenya Revisited Live!!!
Bobby Sanabria

Sepulveda Boulevard
Charlie Sepúlveda & the Turnaround

Nouveau Latino
Nestor Torres

Juntos Para Siempre
Bebo Valdés

Best Christian Album (Spanish Language)
Esperando Tu Voz
Paulina Aguirre

Poquito a Poco

Best Brazilian Song (Portuguese Language)
“A Cor Amarela”
Written by Caetano Veloso

Best Latin Children’s Album
Pombo Musical
Featuring Carlos Vives, Juanes, Santiago Cruz, Adriana Lucia, Ivan Benavides and Cabas

Producer of the Year
Sergio George
Cachorro López

Best Short Form Music Video
“La Perla”
Calle 13

Best Long Form Music Video
“E a Música de Tom Jobim”
Caetano Veloso

Draco Rosa


The Weekly

Each week, Learn, Listen, Watch, Discover and Share with BMI! From must-see videos, to creative inspiration and dynamic playlists we’re excited about, BMI’s The Weekly is dedicated to delivering specially curated content designed for music creators and music fans alike!

Join BMI Live

BMI Live
Back to Top