BMI Songwriters Take Home More Than 78% of ACMs

Posted in News on April 20, 2015
Pictured: BMI songwriters Luke Bryan and Miranda Lambert.
Pictured: BMI songwriters Luke Bryan and Miranda Lambert.

Broadcast Music, Inc. songwriters were overwhelmingly honored at the 2015 Academy of Country Music Awards with an astounding 78% of the trophies! Powerhouse Miranda Lambert earned an incredible five awards, including a 50th Anniversary Milestone Award, Female Vocalist of the Year, Album of the Year and two for Song of the Year. Jason Aldean took Male Vocalist of the Year, while up-and-coming country star Cole Swindell took home the fan-voted New Artist of the Year. Luke Bryan, the winner of Entertainer of the Year, was also featured on “This Is How We Roll,” the winner of the Vocal Event of the Year by the Vocal Duo of the Year, Florida Georgia Line.

The award show, held in Dallas, Texas, was peppered with performances by top BMI artists including Eric Church and Keith Urban, who kicked off the show with a version of Church’s tribute to Merle Haggard, titled “Pledge Allegiance to the Hag.” Following was Church’s hit “Raise ‘Em Up” and Vocal Group of the Year winners Little Big Town, who performed their latest single, “Girl Crush.” Multiple award-winner Miranda Lambert also regaled the audience with two of her hits, “Mama’s Broken Heart” and “Little Red Wagon.” Winners of one of the 50th Anniversary Milestone Awards Brooks & Dunn reunited for a performance of one of their most iconic tunes, “My Maria,” and Martina McBride sang her 1993 GRAMMY-nominated hit “Independence Day.”  

Congratulations to all of BMI’s winners!

50th Anniversary Milestone Awards
Taylor Swift
Miranda Lambert
Brooks & Dunn

Entertainer of the Year
Luke Bryan

Male Vocalist of the Year
Jason Aldean

Female Vocalist of the Year
Miranda Lambert

Vocal Duo of the Year
Florida Georgia Line

Vocal Group of the Year
Little Big Town

New Artist of the Year
Cole Swindell

Album of the Year
Miranda Lambert

Single Record of the Year
“I Don’t Dance”
Lee Brice, Producer: Lee Brice

Song of the Year
Miranda Lambert, Songwriters: Nicolle Galyon, Natalie Hemby, Miranda Lambert, Publishers: EMI Blackwood Music, Inc., Pink Dog Publishing, Sony ATV/Tree Publishing, Warner-Tamerlane Publishing Corp, Wruckestrike

Vocal Event of the Year
“This Is How We Roll”
Florida Georgia Line featuring Luke Bryan


The Weekly

Each week, Learn, Listen, Watch, Discover and Share with BMI! From must-see videos, to creative inspiration and dynamic playlists we’re excited about, BMI’s The Weekly is dedicated to delivering specially curated content designed for music creators and music fans alike!

Join BMI Live

BMI Live
Back to Top