BMI Jazz Giants Score in Down Beat 2007 Critics Poll

Posted in News on July 27, 2007

BMI composers dominated the 2007 Down Beat Critics Poll, winning 69% of the awards. Celebrated bassist and bandleader Dave Holland was a multiple winner, taking home honors both for Bassist of the Year and Band of the Year for his quintet. The late pianist Andrew Hill was inducted into the Jazz Hall of Fame, and Miles Davis’s Legendary Prestige Sessions won in the Historical Album of the Year category.

A number of jazz masters were honored in various categories: Sonny Rollins (Tenor Saxophonist), Keith Jarrett (Pianist), Wayne Shorter (Soprano Saxophonist), Roy Haynes (Drummer), Joe Zawinul (Electric Keyboard & Synthesizer Player), Bobby Hutcherson (Vibist), James Moody (Flutist) and Toots Thielemans (Miscellaneous Instrumentalist). B.B. King was also honored as Blues Artist/Group of the Year.

Many of the most accomplished young lions received honors: Kurt Elling (Male Vocalist), Poncho Sanchez (Percussionist), Dave Douglas (Trumpeter), Steve Turre (Trombonist), Gary Smulyan (Baritone Saxophonist), Don Byron (Clarinetist), Joey DeFrancesco (Organist). The innovative blues performer Otis Taylor won Blues Album of the Year for Definition of a Circle.

For complete coverage of the awards, consult


The Weekly

Each week, Learn, Listen, Watch, Discover and Share with BMI! From must-see videos, to creative inspiration and dynamic playlists we’re excited about, BMI’s The Weekly is dedicated to delivering specially curated content designed for music creators and music fans alike!

Join BMI Live

BMI Live
Back to Top