BMI Affiliates Soar at the 44th Annual Dove Awards

Posted in News on October 24, 2013
Pictured: For King & Country
Pictured: For King & Country

Following last year’s impressive number of wins, Broadcast Music, Inc.’s Christian artists, writers and producers once again took home more than half of the GMA Dove Awards this past week in Nashville. With awards won ranging from Hip-Hop Song of the Year (Lecrae’s “Tell the World”) to Bluegrass Album of the Year (Dailey & Vincent’s The Gospel Side of Dailey & Vincent), the diversity of BMI’s extensive Christian roster was on full display.

Big wins included TobyMac being honored with Artist of the Year, in addition to three other trophies; For King & Country nabbing New Artist of the Year; and Ed Cash as Producer of the Year, for the second year in a row. Jason Crabb had a huge evening as well, taking home awards for Southern Gospel Performance, Inspirational Song, Southern Gospel Song and Inspirational Album.

BMI writers made a strong showing throughout the evening as well, appearing on each of the Hip-Hop, Rock, Rock Contemporary, Pop Contemporary, Bluegrass, Country, Traditional Gospel and Praise & Worship Songs of the Year. Songwriter Jonas Myrin co-wrote “10,000 Reasons,” the track that won Song of the Year, Pop Contemporary Song of the Year and Praise & Worship Song of the Year.

A full list of BMI winners is below; congratulations to all!

Song of the Year!
“10,000 Reasons”
Co-written by Jonas Myrin

Southern Gospel Performance of the Year
“What the Blood is For”
Jason Crabb

Artist of the Year

New Artist of the Year
For King & Country

Producer of the Year
Ed Cash

Rap/Hip-Hop Song of the Year
“Tell the World”
Lecrae feat. Mali Music

Rock Song of the Year
“Sick Of It”
Co-written by John L. Cooper

Rock Contemporary Song of the Year
“Keep Your Eyes Open”
Written by Bear Rinehart and Bo Rinehart

Pop Contemporary Song of the Year
“10,000 Reasons”
Co-written by Jonas Myrin

Inspirational Song of the Year
Jason Crabb

Southern Gospel Song of the Year
“What the Blood is For”
Jason Crabb

Bluegrass Song of the Year
“He Washed My Soul”
The Little Roy & Lizzy Show
Co-written by Wayne Haun, Ruby Moody, Ron Haun

Country Song of the Year
“From My Rags to His Riches”
Written by Ernie Hasse, Wayne Haun, Joel Lindsey

Traditional Gospel Song of the Year
“Take Me to the King”
Tamela Mann
Written by Kirk Franklin

Praise & Worship Song of the Year
“10,000 Reasons”
Co-written by Jonas Myrin

Rap/Hip-Hop Album of the Year

Rock Album of the Year
Release the Panic

Pop Contemporary Album of the Year
Eye On It

Inspirational Album of the Year
Love Is Stronger
Jason Crabb

Southern Gospel Album of the Year
Pure and Simple
Gaither Vocal Band

Bluegrass Album of the Year
The Gospel Side of Dailey & Vincent
Dailey & Vincent

Country Album of the Year
Eyes Wide Open
Jeff & Sheri Easter

Traditional Album of the Year
Best Days
Tamela Mann

Special Event Album of the Year
Passion: Let the Future Begin
Chris Tomlin, Kari Jobe

Christmas Album of the Year
Steven Curtis Chapman

Praise & Worship Album of the Year
Burning Lights
Chris Tomlin

Musical of the Year
Christ the Redeemer
Joel Lindsey, Jeff Bumgardner

Recorded Music Packaging
Eye On It

Short Form Video
“Eye On It”
TobyMac feat. Britt Nicole


The Weekly

Each week, Learn, Listen, Watch, Discover and Share with BMI! From must-see videos, to creative inspiration and dynamic playlists we’re excited about, BMI’s The Weekly is dedicated to delivering specially curated content designed for music creators and music fans alike!

Join BMI Live

BMI Live
Back to Top