BMI Congratulates its World Soundtrack Award Nominees

Posted in News on September 14, 2020

The nominees for this year’s World Soundtrack Awards have been announced, with several BMI-affiliated composers in the running for the prestigious accolades. This year, Alexandre Desplat, who is also up for Film Composer of the Year and holds the record for most wins in that category, is the event’s Guest of Honor. Adapted to current circumstances, this year’s WSAs (the 20th edition) will be celebrated online October 24, and livestreamed from Kinepolis Ghent where the ceremony itself will take place. The World Soundtrack Awards will be the closing event of Film Fest Ghent.

Here are the BMI-affiliated composers up for this year’s awards:

Film Composer of the Year
Alexandre Desplat, Little Women, J’accuse, Adults in the Room
Hildur Guðnadóttir, Joker
Thomas Newman, 1917
John Williams, Star Wars: The Rise of Skywalker

TV Composer of the Year
Nathan Barr, The Great, Hollywood, Carnival Row
Nicholas Britell, Succession (season 2)
Atticus Ross, Watchmen

Best Original Song
“(I’m Gonna) Love Myself Again” from Rocketman - Elton John (PRS) & Bernie Taupin*
“Into The Unknown” from Frozen II - Kristen Anderson-Lopez & Robert Lopez
“One Little Soldier” from Bombshell - Regina Spektor
“Stand Up” from Harriet, Joshuah Brian Campbell & Cynthia Erivo*

Public Choice:
Lolita Ritmanis, Blizzard of Souls

*Not affiliated with BMI


The Weekly

Each week, Learn, Listen, Watch, Discover and Share with BMI! From must-see videos, to creative inspiration and dynamic playlists we’re excited about, BMI’s The Weekly is dedicated to delivering specially curated content designed for music creators and music fans alike!

Join BMI Live

BMI Live
Back to Top