BMI Congratulates its 2020 CMA Nominees

Posted in News on September 2, 2020
Pictured are BMI songwriters Miranda Lambert, Maren Morris and Luke Combs
Pictured are BMI songwriters Miranda Lambert, Maren Morris and Luke Combs

The CMA nods are out with BMI affiliates taking center stage in nearly every category. Miranda Lambert leads the pack with an incredible seven nominations, including her fourth for Entertainer of the Year. Carrie Underwood, who is up for two awards, was also nominated for Entertainer of the Year, making it the first time since 1979 that two female solo acts have been nominated for the night’s biggest prize. Luke Combs and Maren Morris follow close behind Lambert with six and five nods, respectively. Other multiple nominees include Shay Mooney (of Dan + Shay) and producer Jay Joyce with four nods, Ashley McBryde and Keith Urban with three, and Eric Church, Thomas Rhett, Ingrid Andress and Gabby Barrett each with two. The 54th Annual CMA Awards will be broadcast live Wednesday, November 11, at 8:00 EST on ABC.

Congratulations to all! Here are the BMI nominees:

New Artist of the Year
Ingrid Andress
Gabby Barrett
Morgan Wallen

Album of the Year
Heartache Medication – Jon Pardi
Producers: Bart Butler, Jon Pardi

Never Will – Ashley McBryd
Producer: Jay Joyce

What You See Is What You Get – Luke Combs
Producer: Scott Moffatt

Wildcard – Miranda Lambert
Producer: Jay Joyce

Music Event of the Year
“10,000 Hours” – Dan* + Shay (with Justin Bieber*)

“Be A Light” – Thomas Rhett featuring Reba McEntire*, Hillary Scott*, Chris Tomlin, Keith Urban

“The Bones” – Maren Morris with Hozier

“Fooled Around And Fell In Love” – Miranda Lambert (feat. Maren Morris, Elle King, Ashley McBryde, Tenille Townes* & Caylee Hammack*)
Producer: Jay Joyce

“I Hope You’re Happy Now” – Carly Pearce* and Lee Brice*
Producer: busbee

Entertainer of the Year
Eric Church
Luke Combs
Miranda Lambert
Carrie Underwood
Keith Urban

Single of the Year
“10,000 Hours” – Dan* + Shay (with Justin Bieber*)

“Beer Never Broke My Heart” – Luke Combs
Producer: Scott Moffatt

“Bluebird” – Miranda Lambert
Producer/Mix Engineer: Jay Joyce

“The Bones” – Maren Morris

“I Hope” – Gabby Barrett
Producers: Ross Copperman, Zach Kale

Song of the Year
“Bluebird” - Luke Dick, Natalie Hemby, Miranda Lambert

“The Bones” - Maren Morris, Jimmy Robbins*, Laura Veltz

“Even Though I’m Leaving” - Luke Combs, Wyatt B. Durrette III*, Ray Fulcher

“I Hope You’re Happy Now” - Luke Combs, Randy Montana, Carly Pearce*, Jonathan Singleton*

“More Hearts Than Mine” - Ingrid Andress, Sam Ellis*, Derrick Southerland

Female Vocalist of the Year
Miranda Lambert
Ashley McBryde
Maren Morris
Kacey Musgraves
Carrie Underwood

Male Vocalist of the Year
Eric Church
Luke Combs
Thomas Rhett
Keith Urban

Vocal Group of the Year
Lady A**
Little Big Town
Rascal Flatts**

Vocal Duo of the Year
Brooks & Dunn
Dan* + Shay
Florida Georgia Line
Maddie* & Tae

Music Video of the Year
“10,000 Hours” – Dan* + Shay (with Justin Bieber*)
“Bluebird” - Miranda Lambert
“Homemade” - Jake Owen

*Not affiliated with BMI
**Not all members affiliated with BMI


The Weekly

Each week, Learn, Listen, Watch, Discover and Share with BMI! From must-see videos, to creative inspiration and dynamic playlists we’re excited about, BMI’s The Weekly is dedicated to delivering specially curated content designed for music creators and music fans alike!

Join BMI Live

BMI Live
Back to Top