Chapman, Haun, Stewart Aim High With Dove Nominations

Posted in News on March 31, 2004
Nominees for the 35th Annual Dove Awards were announced recently at a press conference at Nashville's Gaylord Entertainment Center, and BMI songwriter/artists led the way in multiple nominations.

Wayne Haun Steven Curtis Chapman Pete Stewart

Producer Wayne Haun topped the list with nine nods including Southern Gospel Song, Bluegrass Song, Country Song, Southern Gospel Album, Country Album, Special Event Album and Choral Collection. Steven Curtis Chapman earned seven mentions for recordings in the Song of the Year, Male Vocalist, Pop/Contemporary Album and Long Form Music Video categories. Producer Pete Stewart is vying for six trophies including Rap/Hip Hop Song, Rock Song and Rock Album.

CeCe Winans Connie Smith Marc Byrd

Additional Song of the Year contenders are Chris Eaton [PRS] ("Child of Mine"), Doug Johnson ("Three Wooden Crosses"), and Mark Hall of Casting Crowns ("If We Are The Body"), who has also just been added to the Songwriter of the Year list. Other BMI-affiliated nominees include Marc Byrd, The Crabb Family, Jars of Clay, Toby McKeehan, Sandi Patty, Robert Randolph, Relient K, Rizen, Marty Stuart and Cece Winans.

The Dove Awards will broadcast live from Municipal Auditorium in Nashville on Thursday, April 28.

Casting Crowns

Congratulations to BMI's 2004 Dove Award Nominees:

Wayne Haun

Steven Curtis Chapman

Pete Stewart

CeCe Winans


Marc Byrd
The Crabb Family
Barbara Fairchild
Lari Goss
Toby McKeehan
Smokie Norful
Robert Randolph
Connie Smith

Audio Adrenaline
Kevin Bond
Cedric Caldwell
Casting Crowns
Miguel Angel Guerra
Jars of Clay
The Martins
Otto Price
Michael Tait

Matt Bronleewe
Byron Cage
Kurt Carr
Gerald Crabb
Chris Eaton
George Hamilton IV
The Hoppers
The Hoskins Family
Doug Johnson
Greater Vision
Dave Moody
Charlie Peacock
Relient K
Rebecca St. James
Mark Stuart
Marty Stuart
Michael Anthony Taylor

Craig Adams
Alejandro Allen
Duane Allen
Paul Allen
Dallas Austin
Percy Bady
Cindi Ballard
Barry Beckett
Josiah Bell
Kene Bell
Big Dismal
Big Rocc
Blue Highway
Jason Burkum
Myron Butler
Steve Carey
Teron Carter
Chad Chapin
The Churchmen
Mike City
Club Zoo Music
John Cooper
Aaron Crabb
Adam Crabb
Jason Crabb
Kathy Crabb
Billy Ray Cyrus
Christine Dente
Scott Dente
Craig Duncan
Sheri Easter
James R. "Budd" Ellison
Jerome Fontamillas
David Foster
Richard Frierson
John Ginty
Karen Peck Gooch
Wendi Foy Green
Andy Griffith
Mark Hall
Sanchez Harley
Dan Haseltine
Mark Heimermann
Tom Hemby
Rick Hendrix
Maurice Henderson
Bob Herdman
Here's To JO Music
Jeremy Holderfield
Canton Jones
Monroe Jones
Stacy Jones
Jay Joyce
Joey Kibble
Mark Kibble
Wayne Kirkpatrick
Jennifer Knapp
The Lewis Family
Charlie Lowell
Stephen Mason
Lisa McClendon
Donnie McClurkin
Joyce Martin McCollough
Ann McCrary
Rod McGaha
Will McGinniss
Nelson McSwain
Mike Curb Music
Carlton Moody
Phillip Moore
Dan Munizzi
Martha Munizzi
Dan Murph
Naomi and the Segos
Greg Nelson
Grant Nicholas
Arnold Lanni
Adriann Lewis
Ay'Ron Lewis
Little Pooky's Music
Aaron Neville
Art Neville
Grant Nicholas
The Oak Ridge Boys
Alan O'Bryant
Matt Odmark
Joe Pace
Dolly Parton
Sandi Patty
Peach Hill Songs
The Perrys
Dan Pitts
The Principles
Desmond Pringle
Tom Reeves
Alvin Richardson
Ric Robbins
Carroll Wayne Roberson
Joseph Rojas
Matt Rollings
George Rowe
Roger Ryan
Ray Scott
Seventh Day Slumber
Mike Severson
Belinda Smith
Soul Dog
Aaron Sprinkle
Kevin Stokes
Storm Boy Music
Jerry Sullivan
Swecs Music
Sweet Radical Music
Sydney Erin Music
Matthew Thiessen
Mark Lee Townsend
Billy Joe Walker, Jr.
Kevin Ward
Steven Weaver
West Lodge Music
Fletch Wiley
Mario Winans
Marvin L. Winans, Jr.
Vickie Winans
Gerald Wolfe
Vicki Yohe


The Weekly

Each week, Learn, Listen, Watch, Discover and Share with BMI! From must-see videos, to creative inspiration and dynamic playlists we’re excited about, BMI’s The Weekly is dedicated to delivering specially curated content designed for music creators and music fans alike!

Join BMI Live

BMI Live
Back to Top