BMI Members of the American Academy of Arts and Letters

Election to the American Academy of Arts and Letters, an honor society of 50 composers, 100 architects and artists, and 100 writers, is considered the highest formal recognition of artistic merit in the United States.  Members are elected for life and pay no dues. As vacancies occur, the Academicians nominate and elect new members.  As of 2016, BMI is proud to represent 25 of the 45 composer members of the American Academy of Arts and Letters.

John Adams (elected 1997)
T. J. Anderson (elected 2005)
Robert Beaser (elected 2001)
William Bolcom (elected 1993)
Martin Boykan (elected 2011)
Wen-chung Chou (elected 1986)
George Crumb (elected 1975)
Mario Davidovsky (elected 1982)
John Harbison (elected 1992)
Stephen Hartke (elected 2009)
Karel Husa (elected 1994)
Stephen Jaffe (elected 2012)
Aaron Jay Kernis (elected 2011)
Tobias Picker (elected 2012)
David Rakowski (elected 2016)
Bernard Rands (elected 2004)
Steve Reich (elected 1994)
Christopher Rouse (elected 2002)
Frederic Rzewski (elected 2009)
Joseph Schwantner (elected 2002)
Francis Thorne (elected 1988)
Joan Tower (elected 1998)
Charles Wuorinen (elected 1985)
Yehudi Wyner (elected 1999)
Ellen Taaffe Zwilich (elected 1992)