BMI Congratulates its 2019 Songwriters Hall of Fame Induction Nominees

Posted in News on November 8, 2018

The Songwriters Hall of Fame announced its prestigious class of nominees for induction in 2019, with 17 stellar BMI affiliates among the list. As an organization dedicated to honoring the contributions of the composers and lyricists responsible for the world’s most celebrated popular music, the Songwriters Hall of Fame will celebrate its final inductees at the 50th Annual Songwriters Hall of Fame Induction & Awards Gala on June 13, 2019, in New York City.

Eligible voting members will have until midnight of December 17, 2018, to submit ballots with their choices of three nominees from a non-performing category and three from a performing category. 

Here are just a few of the song credits attributed to the BMI nominees:


Tommy Boyce/Bobby Hart – “Come a Little Bit Closer,” “I’m Not Your Steppin’ Stone,” “I Wonder What She’s Doing Tonight?,” “Last Train to Clarksville,” “Valleri”

Dallas Austin – “Creep,” “Just Like a Pill,” “Unpretty,” “What About Your Friends,” “Motownphilly”

Dean Dillon – “Ocean Front Property,” “The Chair,” “Easty Come Easy Go,” “Set’Em Up Joe,” “Best Day”

Michael Gore/Dean Pitchford – “Fame,” “All the Woman I Need,” “Out Here On My Own,” “Carrie the Musical”

Irwin Levine/L. Russell Brown – “Tie A Yellow Ribbon,” “Knock Three Times,” “I’m Gonna Boogie Tonight,” “Say Has Anybody Seen My Sweet Gypsy Rose,” “I Woke Up In Love This Morning”

Jerry Fuller – “Young Girl,” “Travellin’ Man,” “Lady Willpower,” “Show and Tell,” “Over You”

Dan Penn – “Cry Like a Baby,” “Sweet Inspiration,” “I’m Your Puppet,” “It Tears Me Up,” “A Woman Left Lonely”

Tom T. Hall – “Harper Valley P.T.A.,” “I Love,” “Old Dogs Children And Watermellon Wine,” I’m Not Ready Yet, ” “Little Bitty”

Performing Songwriters:

Dave Stewart – “Here Comes the Rain Again,” “Sweet Dreams (Are Made of This),” “Would I Lie To You,” “Missionary Man,” “Sisters Are Doin’ It For Themselves”

Jimmy Cliff – “The Harder They Come,” “Many Rivers to Cross,” “Sitting in Limbo,” “Wonderful World, Beautiful People,” “You can Get It If You Really Want”

John Prine – “Angel from Montgomery,” “Paradise,” “Same Stone,” “I Just Wanna Dance With You,” “In Spite of Ourselves”

Lloyd Price – “Just Because,” “Lawdy Miss Clawdy,” “Personality,” “I’m Gonna Get Married, ” “Stagger Lee”

Tommy James – “Crimson And Clover,” “Crystal Blue Persuasion,” “Draggin’ the Line,”  “I Think We’re Alone Now,” “Mony, Mony”

Vince Gill – “Don’t Let Our Love Start Slippin’ Away,” “I Stil Believe in You,” “One More Last Chance,” “If You Ever Have Forever in Mind,” “Never Knew Lonely”