BMI Congratulates its 2018 CMA Nominees

Posted in News on August 28, 2018
Pictured clockwise from top left are: Luke Combs, Lauren Alaina, Midland, and Chris Janson.
Pictured clockwise from top left are: Luke Combs, Lauren Alaina, Midland, and Chris Janson.

BMI is proud to announce that our affiliates have taken the majority of CMA nods again this year, including an incredible nine BMI writers each up for three awards. The ceremony, which will broadcast live from Nashville on Wednesday, November 14, at 8PM ET on ABC, will again be co-hosted by BMI superstar Carrie Underwood.

Here’s the complete list of BMI nominees. Kudos to all!
Entertainer of the Year
Jason Aldean

Luke Bryan

Kenny Chesney

Keith Urban

Female Vocalist of the Year
Miranda Lambert

Maren Morris

Kacey Musgraves

Carrie Underwood

Male Vocalist of the Year
Luke Combs

Thomas Rhett

Keith Urban

Album of the Year
From a Room Vol. 2, Chris Stapleton* (Co-Producer Dave Cobb)
Golden Hour, Kacey Musgraves (Producers: Ian Fitchuk, Daniel Tashian and Kacey Musgraves)

Graffiti U, Keith Urban (Producers: Keith Urban, JR Rotem, Ed Sheeran, Johnny McDaid, Ian Kirkpatrick, Ross Copperman)

Life Changes, Thomas Rhett (Producers: Julian Bunetta, Jesse Frasure, Joe London and Thomas Rhett)

The Mountain, Dierks Bentley* (Producers: Ross Copperman, Jon Randall Stewart and Arturo Buenahora Jr.)

New Artist of the Year
Lauren Alaina

Luke Combs

Chris Janson


Song of the Year
“Broken Halos,” Chris Stapleton* (Co-Writer Mike Henderson)

“Drowns the Whiskey,” Jason Aldean with Miranda Lambert (Songwriters: Josh Thompson, Brandon Kinney, Jeff Middleton)

“Drunk Girl,” Chris Janson (Songwriters: Chris Janson, Tom Douglas)
“Tequila,” Dan + Shay (Co-Writer Nicole Gallyon)

Single of the Year
“Broken Halos,” Chris Stapleton* (Producers: Dave Cobb)
“Drinkin’ Problem,” Midland** (Mix Engineer: Justin Niebank)
“Drowns the Whiskey,” Jason Aldean Feat. Miranda Lambert

“Meant to Be,” Bebe Rexha Feat. Florida Georgia Line 

“Tequila,” Dan* + Shay (Co-Producer: Scott Hendricks)

Vocal Group of the Year

Little Big Town


Vocal Duo of the Year
Dan* + Shay

Florida Georgia Line

Maddie & Tae


Musical Event of the Year
“Dear Hate,” Maren Morris with Vince Gill
“Drowns the Whiskey,” Jason Aldean with Miranda Lambert

“Everything’s Gonna Be Alright,” David Lee Murphy* with Kenny Chesney

“Meant to Be,” Bebe Rehxa with Florida Georgia Line

Music Video of the Year
“Babe,” Sugarland** Feat. Taylor Swift 

“Cry Pretty,” Carrie Underwood
“Drunk Girl,” Chris Janson 

“Marry Me,” Thomas Rhett 

“Tequila,” Dan* + Shay

Musician of the Year
Jerry Douglas

Mac McAnally

*Not affiliated with BMI
**Not all members affiliated with BMI


The Weekly

Each week, Learn, Listen, Watch, Discover and Share with BMI! From must-see videos, to creative inspiration and dynamic playlists we’re excited about, BMI’s The Weekly is dedicated to delivering specially curated content designed for music creators and music fans alike!

Join BMI Live

BMI Live
Back to Top