BMI Congratulates its 2017 IBMA Nominees

Posted in News on August 18, 2017
(Top Left): Balsam Range, (Top Right): Doyle Lawson & Quicksilver, (Center): The Gibson Brothers, (Bottom Left): Earls of Leicester, (Bottom Right): Flatt Lonesome
(Top Left): Balsam Range, (Top Right): Doyle Lawson & Quicksilver, (Center): The Gibson Brothers, (Bottom Left): Earls of Leicester, (Bottom Right): Flatt Lonesome

The International Bluegrass Music Association has honored BMI affiliates with nominations across every musical category for their 2017 IBMA Awards. Hosted by Béla Fleck and Abigail Washburn, the 28th annual ceremony will be held at the Duke Energy Center for the Performing Arts in Raleigh, North Carolina, on September 28.

Congratulations to all! Here’s the list of BMI nominees:

2017 Hall of Fame Inductees

Hazel Dickens and Alice Gerrard
Bobby Hicks
Roland White

2017 Distinguished Achievement Award Recipients

Fletcher Bright
Louisa Branscomb

2017 International Bluegrass Music Award Nominations

Entertainer of the Year
Balsam Range
Doyle Lawson & Quicksilver
The Earls of Leicester
Flatt Lonesome
The Gibson Brothers

Vocal Group of the Year
Balsam Range
Blue Highway
Doyle Lawson & Quicksilver
Flatt Lonesome
The Gibson Brothers

Instrumental Group of the Year
Balsam Range
The Earls of Leicester
Frank Solivan & Dirty Kitchen
Michael Cleveland & Flamekeeper
Punch Brothers

Song of the Year
“Blue Collar Dreams” – Balsam Range (artist), Aaron Bibelhauser (writer)
“Going Back To Bristol” – Shawn Camp (artist), Mac Wiseman (writer)
“I Am A Drifter” – Volume Five (artist)
The Train That Carried My Girl from Town – The Earls of Leicester (artist)

Album of the Year
Fiddler’s Dream – Michael Cleveland (artist), Jeff White and Michael Cleveland (producers)
In the Ground – The Gibson Brothers (artist), Eric Gibson, Leigh Gibson, and Mike Barber (producers)
Mountain Voodoo – Balsam Range (artist), Balsam Range (producer)
Original – Bobby Osborne (artist), Alison Brown (producer)
Rattle & Roar – The Earls of Leicester (artist), Jerry Douglas (producer)

Gospel Recorded Performance of the Year
“Give Me Jesus” – Larry Cordle (artist), Traditional/Larry Cordle (writer), Give Me Jesus (album), Larry Cordle (producer)

“Hallelujah” – Blue Highway (artist), Public Domain arranged by Blue Highway (writer), Original Traditional (album), Blue Highway (producer)

“I Found A Church Today” – The Gibson Brothers (artist), Eric Gibson/Leigh Gibson (writers),  In the Ground (album), Eric Gibson, Leigh Gibson, and Mike Barber (producers)

“Sacred Memories” – Joe Mullins & The Radio Ramblers with Ricky Skaggs* and Sharon White Skaggs* (artist), Dolly Parton (writer), Sacred Memories (album), Joe Mullins (producer)

“Wish You Were Here” – Balsam Range (artist), James Stover/Michael Williams (writers), Mountain Voodoo (album), Balsam Range (producer)

Instrumental Recorded Performance of the Year
“Fiddler’s Dream” – Michael Cleveland (artist), Fiddler’s Dream (album), Michael Cleveland (producer)

“Great Waterton” – Kristin Scott Benson (artist), Kristin Scott Benson (writer), Stringworks (album), Kristin Scott Benson (producer)

“Greenbrier” – Sam Bush (artist), Sam Bush/Scott Vestal (writers), Storyman (album)

“Little Liza Jane” – Adam Steffey (artist), Tommy Duncan/James Robert Wills (writers), Here to Stay (album), Adam Steffey (producer)

“Flint Hill Special” – The Earls of Leicester (artist), Earl Scruggs (writer), Rattle & Roar (album), Jerry Douglas (producer)

Recorded Event of the Year
“East Virginia Blues” – Rickey Wasson and Dan Tyminski (artists), Croweology: The Study of J.D. Crowe’s Musical Legacy (album), Rickey Wasson (producer)

“Going Back to Bristol” – Shawn Camp with Mac Wiseman, Peter Cooper*, Thomm Jutz* (artists), I Sang the Song (Life of the Voice with a Heart) (album)

“I’ve Gotta Get a Message to You” – Bobby Osborne with Sierra Hull, Alison Brown, Rob Ickes, Stuart Duncan, Trey Hensley, Todd Phillips, Kenny Malone, Claire Lynch, and Bryan McDowell (artists), Original (album), Alison Brown (producer)

“Steamboat Whistle Blues” – Michael Cleveland featuring Sam Bush (artists), Fiddler’s Dream (album), Jeff White and Michael Cleveland (producers)

“’Tis Sweet to Be Remembered” – Mac Wiseman and Alison Krauss (artists), I Sang the Song (Life of the Voice with a Heart) (album)

Emerging Artist of the Year
Front Country
The Lonely Heartstring Band
Molly Tuttle
Sister Sadie
Volume Five

Male Vocalist of the Year
Shawn Camp
Eric Gibson
Leigh Gibson
Buddy Melton
Russell Moore

Female Vocalist of the Year
Brooke Aldridge
Dale Ann Bradley
Amanda Smith
Molly Tuttle

Instrumental Performers of the Year

Ned Luberecki
Joe Mullins
Noam Pikelny
Kristin Scott Benson

Barry Bales
Mike Bub
Missy Raines
Tim Surrett

Becky Buller
Michael Cleveland
Stuart Duncan
Patrick McAvinue
Ron Stewart

Jerry Douglas
Rob Ickes
Phil Leadbetter
Josh Swift

Jim Hurst
Kenny Smith
Bryan Sutton
Molly Tuttle
Josh Williams

Jesse Brock
Sam Bush
Frank Solivan
Adam Steffey

2017 IBMA Special Awards Nominees

Larry Cordle
Carl Jackson
Tim Stafford

2017 IBMA Momentum Award Nominees

Darin Aldridge
Lorraine Jordan

Mile Twelve
The Po’ Ramblin’ Boys

Jacob Greer
Kim Robins
Jesse Smathers

Carley Arrowood
David Benedict
Brandon Bostic
Casey Campbell

*Not affiliated with BMI


The Weekly

Each week, Learn, Listen, Watch, Discover and Share with BMI! From must-see videos, to creative inspiration and dynamic playlists we’re excited about, BMI’s The Weekly is dedicated to delivering specially curated content designed for music creators and music fans alike!

Join BMI Live

BMI Live
Back to Top