BMI Congratulates its 2017 CMA Nominees

Posted in News on September 7, 2017

Nominations for the 51st CMA Awards are in, with BMI writers taking major nods again this year. Leading the pack with an incredible five nods is Miranda Lambert for Album of the Year, Song of the Year, Music Video of the Year, Female Vocalist of the Year and Single of the Year. Keith Urban and Little Big Town are also tied with an impressive four nominations each. In addition to BMI’s country veterans taking center stage, rising star Jon Pardi received two nominations, while Americana stalwart Jason Isbell received his first-ever CMA nomination for Album of the Year.

The star-studded awards ceremony will air live Wednesday, November 8, on ABC. Congratulations to all!

Here’s the complete list of BMI nominees:

Entertainer of the Year
Luke Bryan
Eric Church
Keith Urban

Album of the Year
The Breaker – Little Big Town; Producer: Jay Joyce
From A Room, Vol. 1 – Chris Stapleton*; Producer: Dave Cobb
Heart Break – Lady Antebellum*; Producer: busbee
The Nashville Sound – Jason Isbell and the 400 Unit; Producer: Dave Cobb
The Weight of These Wings ­– Miranda Lambert

Single of the Year
“Better Man” – Little Big Town; Producer: Jay Joyce; Mix Engineers: Jason Hall, Jay Joyce
“Blue Ain’t Your Color” – Keith Urban; Producer: Keith Urban
“Dirt On My Boots” – Jon Pardi; Producer(s): Bart Butler, Jon Pardi
“Tin Man” – Miranda Lambert

Song of the Year
“Better Man” – Little Big Town; Songwriter: Taylor Swift
“Dirt on My Boots” – Jon Pardi; Songwriters: Rhett Akins, Jesse Frasure
“Tin Man” – Miranda Lambert; Songwriters: Jack Ingram, Miranda Lambert, Jon Randall

Male Vocalist of the Year
Eric Church
Thomas Rhett
Keith Urban

Female Vocalist of the Year
Miranda Lambert
Maren Morris
Carrie Underwood

New Artist of the Year
Luke Combs
Jon Pardi
Lauren Alaina

Vocal Duo of the Year
Dan* + Shay
Florida Georgia Line
Maddie* and Tae

Vocal Group of the Year
Little Big Town
Rascal Flatts (Jay DeMarcus)

Music Video of the Year
“Better Man” – Little Big Town
“Blue Ain’t Your Color” – Keith Urban
“Craving You” – Thomas Rhett feat. Maren Morris
“Vice” – Miranda Lambert

Musical Event of the Year
“Craving You” – Thomas Rhett feat. Maren Morris
“Funny How Time Slips Away” – Glen Campbell with Willie Nelson
“Kill a Word” – Eric Church feat. Rhiannon Giddens
“Setting the World on Fire” – Kenny Chesney with Pink
“Speak to a Girl” – Tim McGraw and Faith Hill

Musician of the Year
Jerry Douglas (Dobro)
Mac McAnally (Guitar)

*Not affiliated with BMI


The Weekly

Each week, Learn, Listen, Watch, Discover and Share with BMI! From must-see videos, to creative inspiration and dynamic playlists we’re excited about, BMI’s The Weekly is dedicated to delivering specially curated content designed for music creators and music fans alike!

Join BMI Live

BMI Live
Back to Top