BMI Dominates 2005 IBMA Nominations

Posted in News on September 6, 2005

BMI writers claimed a majority of the nominations for the 16th Annual International Bluegrass Music Awards, sweeping the categories of Entertainer of the Year, Vocal Group and Female Vocalist. Artists favored with the most nominations include Alison Krauss & Union Station, Blue Highway, Rhonda Vincent & the Rage, and Doyle Lawson & Quicksilver. Alison Krauss will co-host the event, scheduled for October 27 at the Ryman Auditorium in Nashville.

Alison Krauss & Union Station Rhonda Vincent

Alison Krauss & Union Station received 14 nominations including Entertainer of the Year, Instrumental Group, Vocal Group, Song of the Year, Album, Gospel Recorded Performance, Female Vocalist for Alison, Male Vocalist for Dan Tyminski and individual instrumental award nods for band members Jerry Douglas (Dobro) and Ron Block (banjo). Krauss and Tyminski are also featured on the Larry Sparks album 40, nominated for Album of the Year and Recorded Event of the Year. She also received a nod for being a part of the Recorded Event-nominated album Moody Bluegrass.

Blue Highway Doyle Lawson & Quicksilver

Five-time Female Vocalist of the Year Rhonda Vincent and her band the Rage came in with eight nominations including Entertainer, Vocal Group, Female Vocalist, and an individual nod for the Rage's Hunter Berry on fiddle. Vincent is also a featured artist on the IBMA-nominated album 40 by Larry Sparks.

Larry Sparks Del McCoury Band

Picking up seven nominations, Doyle Lawson and his band Quicksilver were recognized for Entertainer, Vocal Group, Album and Gospel Recorded Performance, along with an individual instrumental nomination for Lawson on mandolin. They'll compete with themselves among others with two nominations in the Song of the Year category for "Heartbreak Number Nine," written by band members Barry Scott and Jamie Daley, and "You Gotta Dig A Little Deeper," written by Carl H. Caldwell and Barry Scott.

Paul Williams Williams & Clark Expedition

Blue Highway also earned seven nominations including Vocal Group, Instrumental Group, and an Album of the Year and Recorded Event nod for their participation on Larry Sparks' 40. Band members Rob Ickes (Dobro) and Tim Stafford (Guitar) are nominated in their respective Instrumental Award categories; Stafford's album Endless Line is also a finalist for Instrumental Album.

Cherryholmes Mountain Heart

Eight-time Entertainers of the Year the Del McCoury Band received six nominations including Entertainer, Instrumental Group and individual nods for band members Rob McCoury on banjo and Ronnie McCoury on mandolin. Del McCoury was also a Song of the Year nominee as writer for the Alison Krauss & Union Station song "Rain Please Go Away."

Reigning Male Vocalist Larry Sparks nabbed five nominations -- Album of the Year, Recorded Event, Male Vocalist, Guitar Player and a Song of the Year nod for the Alan Laney-penned "Georgia Peaches" with Andy Griggs.

Bluegrass power group Mountain Heart picked up five nominations for Vocal Group, Instrumental Group and Gospel Recorded Performance for their song "I Want To Live Beyond The Grave," in addition to an individual recognition for Jason Moore on bass.

Longtime gospel stalwart Paul Williams also gathered five nominations, including Gospel Recorded Performance for his album I'll Be No Stranger There. Williams also contributed to the Album and Recorded Event-nominated albums 40 by Larry Sparks and the Tribute to Jimmy Martin: "The King of Bluegrass" project.

The recipients of the 2005 International Bluegrass Music Awards will be broadcast via radio around the world to more than 300 U.S. markets and 14 foreign networks. The awards are voted on by the professional membership of the International Bluegrass Music Association (IBMA), which serves as the trade association for the bluegrass music industry. The award show is the centerpiece of IBMA's week-long Business Conference and Bluegrass Fan Fest, slated for October 24-30 in Nashville.

Congratulations to BMI's 2005 IBMA nominees:

Entertainer of the Year
Alison Krauss & Union Station
Doyle Lawson & Quicksilver
The Del McCoury Band
Rhonda Vincent & the Rage

Instrumental Group of the Year
Blue Highway
Alison Krauss & Union Station
The Del McCoury Band
Mountain Heart

Vocal Group of the Year
Blue Highway
Alison Krauss & Union Station
Doyle Lawson & Quicksilver
Mountain Heart
Rhonda Vincent & The Rage

Male Vocalist of the Year
Russell Moore
Larry Sparks
Dan Tyminski

Female Vocalist of the Year
Dale Ann Bradley
Cia Cherryholmes
Sonya Isaacs
Alison Krauss
Rhonda Vincent

Song of the Year
"Georgia Peaches"
Larry Sparks with Andy Griggs
written by Carl Jackson & Alan Laney

"Heartbreak Number Nine"
Doyle Lawson & Quicksilver
written by Barry Scott & Jamie Dailey

"Me and John and Paul"

written by Harley Allen

"Rain Please Go Away"
Alison Krauss & Union Station
written by Del McCoury

"You Gotta Dig A Little Deeper"
Doyle Lawson & Quicksilver
written by Carl H. Caldwell & Barry Scott

Album of the Year
Larry Sparks
produced by Don Rigsby

Lonely Runs Both Ways
Alison Krauss & Union Station
produced by Alison Krauss & Union Station

Tribute to Jimmy Martin: "The King of Bluegrass"
J.D. Crowe & Paul Williams
produced by Ben Isaacs

You Gotta Dig A Little Deeper
Doyle Lawson & Quicksilver
produced by Doyle Lawson

Gospel Recorded Performance of the Year
"A Living Prayer"
Alison Krauss & Union Station
produced by Alison Krauss & Union Station

"I'll Be No Stranger There"
Paul Williams & The Victory Trio
produced by Paul Williams

"I Want To Live Beyond the Grave"
Mountain Heart

"Praise His Name"
Doyle Lawson & Quicksilver
produced by Doyle Lawson

Instrumental Album of the Year
Bending The Rules
Jesse McReynolds with Travis Wetzel
produced by Jesse McReynolds & Billy Troy

Endless Line
Tim Stafford
produced by Tim Stafford & Bobby Starnes

Half Moon Bay
produced by Bobby Starnes

Slide Effects
produced by Scott Vestal

Recorded Event of the Year
Larry Sparks with Ronnie Bowman, Larry Cordle, Kevin Denney, Vince Gill, Andy Griggs, Tom T. Hall, Jim Hurst, the Isaacs, Chris Jones, Alison Krauss, Russell Moore, Don Rigsby, Tim Stafford, Ralph Stanley, Dan Tyminski, Rhonda Vincent & Paul Williams
produced by Don Rigsby

Daughters of American Bluegrass
Kim Fox, Dale Ann Bradley, Cindy Cashdollar, Missy Raines, Gena Britt and Michelle Birkby-Vance
produced by Lorraine Jordan

Moody Bluegrass: A Nashville Tribute to the Moody Blues
Harley Allen, Alison Brown, Sam Bush, Fred Carpenter, Lionel Cartwright, Larry Cordle, Stuart Duncan, Andrew Hall, Aubrey Haynie, David Harvey, Alison Krauss, Keith Little, Jon Randall, Tom Shinness
produced by David Harvey

Tribute to Jimmy Martin: "The King of Bluegrass"
J.D. Crowe, Paul Williams, Audie Blaylock & Kenny Ingram
produced by Ben Isaacs

You Were There For Me
Peter Rowan & Tony Rice
produced by Peter Rowan & Tony Rice

Emerging Artists of the Year
Williams & Clark Expedition

Instrumental Performers of the Year
Ron Block
J.D. Crowe
Rob McCoury

Mike Auldridge
Jerry Douglas
Rob Ickes
Randy Kohrs

Missy Raines
Marshall Wilborn

Hunter Berry
Jason Carter
Michael Cleveland
Stuart Duncan
Ron Stewart

Jim Hurst
Tony Rice
Larry Sparks
Tim Stafford

Sam Bush
Doyle Lawson
Ronnie McCoury

Bluegrass Broadcaster of the Year
Terry Herd

Best Liner Notes for a Recorded Project
Eddie Stubbs
Don Reno & Red Smiley
Sweethearts in Heaven


The Weekly

Each week, Learn, Listen, Watch, Discover and Share with BMI! From must-see videos, to creative inspiration and dynamic playlists we’re excited about, BMI’s The Weekly is dedicated to delivering specially curated content designed for music creators and music fans alike!

Join BMI Live

BMI Live
Back to Top