BMI Gospel Artists Win Big at GMA Awards

Posted in News on May 1, 2005
Many of BMI's top gospel music creators and performers were honored at the 36th Annual GMA Awards, presented last month at the Grand Ole Opry House in Nashville. Mark Hall earned quadruple trophies, including his second consecutive Songwriter of the Year award and Song of the Year honors for "Who Am I"; he also shared three wins, including Group of the Year, with his band, Casting Crowns.

Mark Hall Switchfoot

San Diego alt-rockers Switchfoot were another of the night's big winners, taking four Dove statuettes including Artist of the Year. The Crabb Family also notched four awards including Southern Gospel Album, with patriarch Gerald Crabb collecting three as writer of "He Came Looking for Me," "Forever" and "Through the Fire."

Casting Crowns

Earning double mentions were Israel & New Breed, Ed Cash, Steven Curtis Chapman, Aaron Lindsey and Toby McKeehan.

The Crabb Family Gerald Crabb

Hosted by a slate of stars including Chapman, CeCe Winans, Rebecca St. James and Israel Houghton, the awards show will be televised in national syndication through network affiliates and independent stations.

BMI's 2005 GMA Award winners:

Song of the Year
"Who Am I?"
Mark Hall, songwriter; Club Zoo Music, SWECS Music

Songwriter of the Year
Mark Hall

Artist of the Year

Israel & New Breed Ed Cash

Group of the Year
Casting Crowns

New Artist of the Year

Building 429

Producer of the Year
Ed Cash

Steven Curtis Chapman Building 429

Rap/Hip Hop Recorded Song of the Year
"Hittin' Curves"
Teron Carter, Stacy Jones, Otto Price, S. Moss, songwriters

Rock/Contemporary Recorded Song of the Year
"Dare You to Move"

Pop/Contemporary Recorded Song of the Year
"Who Am I?"
Casting Crowns
Mark Hall, songwriter

Aaron Lindsey Day of Fire

Inspirational Recorded Song of the Year

"Voice of Truth"
Casting Crowns
Mark Hall and Steven Curtis Chapman, songwriters

Southern Gospel Recorded Song of the Year
"He Came Looking for Me"
The Crabb Family
Gerald Crabb, songwriter

Bluegrass Recorded Song of the Year
The Isaacs
Rebecca Isaacs Bowman and Sonya Isaacs, songwriters

tobyMac Grits

Country Recorded Song of the Year
The Crabb Family
Jason Crabb and Gerald Crabb, songwriters

Urban Recorded Song of the Year
"You Don't Know"
Rodney Jerkins and Fred Jerkins, songwriters

Traditional Gospel Recorded Song of the Year
"Through the Fire"
The Crabb Family featuring Donnie McClurkin
Gerald Crabb, songwriter

Dave Moody The Isaacs

Contemporary Gospel Recorded Song of the Year
"Again I Say Rejoice"
Israel & New Breed
Israel Houghton and Aaron Lindsey, songwriters

Rap/Hip Hop Album of the Year
Welcome to Diverse City
Toby McKeehan, Christopher Stevens, Solomon Olds, Joe Baldridge, Robert Marvin, Josiah Bell and Michael Linney, producers

Rock Album of the Year
Day of Fire
Day of Fire

Israel Houghton The Lewis Family

Rock/Contemporary Album of the Year
Paul Ebersold, producer

Southern Gospel Album of the Year
The Crabb Family; Jason Crabb, Adam Crabb, Aaron Crabb and Kelly
Bowling, producers

Bluegrass Album of the Year
Angels Gathering Flowers
The Lewis Family
Wayne Haun, producer

Urban Album of the Year
Everyday People
Andrew Ramsey and Shannon Sanders, producers

Traditional Gospel Album of the Year
A Tribute to Mahalia Jackson

Barry Beckett, producer
Contemporary Gospel Album of the Year
Live From Another Level
Israel & New Breed
Israel Houghton and Aaron W. Lindsey, producers

Praise & Worship Album of the Year
Ed Cash, producer

Spanish Language Album of the Year
Te Amo Dios
Praise Street Worship Band
Dave Moody, Eulises Canada and Nelson McSwain, producers

Special Event Album of the Year
The Passion of the Christ: Songs
Steven Curtis Chapman, creed.asp">Scott Stapp, Sara Evans, Big Dismal,
Kirk Franklin,Yolanda Adams, BeBe Winans, Angie Stone

Short Form Music Video of the Year
"Dare You to Move"

Long Form Music Video of the Year
"Switchfoot Live In San Diego"