Drama League to Honor BMI Workshop

Posted in News on April 24, 2005
The Lehman Engel Musical Theatre Workshop will receive the 2005 Distinguished Achievement in Musical Theatre Award at the 71st Annual Drama League Awards and Luncheon at the Marriott Marquis Hotel on Friday, May 13. BMI award-winning composer Maury Yeston ("Nine," "Titanic") will present the award and Avenue Q composers Robert Lopez and Jeff Marx will accept on behalf of BMI.

Other honorees include eight-time Tony Award-winning director Mike Nichols (Julia Hansen Award for Excellence in Directing) and the Billy Rose Theatre Collection at the New York Performing Arts Library (Unique Contribution to the Theatre Award). The ceremony, to be hosted by Cherry Jones, is considered the theatre season's most festive awards.

For the first time in the history of the awards, tickets for the ceremony will be available to the general public. Tickets are $150 each (non-table seating). The ticket price includes a one-year Drama League membership (an $85 value). For tickets, please call the Drama League at 212-244-9494 x5. Proceeds from the 71st Annual Awards Luncheon support the training programs of the Drama League Directors Project.

The Drama League is devoted to supporting and strengthening theatre in America by "broadening and stimulating the audience for quality theatre and by developing emerging talents for careers in the theatre."


The Weekly

Each week, Learn, Listen, Watch, Discover and Share with BMI! From must-see videos, to creative inspiration and dynamic playlists we’re excited about, BMI’s The Weekly is dedicated to delivering specially curated content designed for music creators and music fans alike!

Join BMI Live

BMI Live
Back to Top