Casting Crowns, Crabbs Nab Top Dove Nominations

Posted in News on March 27, 2005
BMI gospel artists and songwriters led the way in multiple mentions when nominations for the 36th Annual GMA Music Awards were announced in Nashville.

Casting CrownsGerald CrabbIsrael Houghton

Casting Crowns reeled in the most nominations with seven, including Group, Artist, and Rock/Contemporary Recorded Song ("American Dream"), Pop/Contemporary Recorded Song ("Who Am I?") and Long Form Music Video ("Live From Atlanta"). Claiming six nods is the group's lead singer-songwriter, Mark Hall, who is up for Male Vocalist and Song of the Year trophies for "Who Am I?".

Jim CooperJason RoyMatt Bronleewe

The Crabb Family also garnered a total of six nominations including Group and Southern Gospel Album, while the group's patriarch, Gerald Crabb, earned a Song of the Year mention ("Through the Fire"), plus five more songwriting nods in categories spanning country, inspirational and southern gospel.

Brendan GrahamWayne HaunOtto Price

Additional Song of the Year contenders include Israel Houghton of Israel & New Breed ("Friend of God"), Brendan Graham ("You Raise Me Up"), Kenny Greenberg ("More"), Matt Bronleewe ("Healing Rain"), and Jason Roy and Jim Cooper ("Glory Defined"). Other BMI-affiliated Dove nominees include Rodney Jerkins, Switchfoot, Dottie Peoples, Building 429, Hector Cervantes, Grits, the Talley Trio, Martha Munizzi and last year's top Dove nominee Wayne Haun.

Steven Curtis ChapmanFred HammondMartha Munizzi

The GMA Music Awards will begin at 6pm on Wednesday, April 13 with a new format for 2005 -- awards and performances will share the limelight throughout the evening. Steven Curtis Chapman, Cece Winans, Rebecca St. James and Israel Houghton are among those set to host this year's festivities, which will be taped at the Grand Ole Opry House in Nashville for national syndication during the month of June.

Day of FireKim HillDottie Peoples

Song of the Year Nominees:

"Friend of God"
Israel Houghton
Champions for Christ Music Publishing
Integrity's Praise! Music
Sound of the New Breed

"Glory Defined"
Jim Cooper
Jason Roy
Dayspring Music

"Healing Rain"
Matt Bronleewe
Songs From the Farm Publishing
Songs of Windswept Pacific

Kenny Greenberg
Greenberg Music

"Through the Fire"
Gerald Crabb
Lehsem Songs

"Who Am I"
Mark Hall
Club Zoo Music

"You Raise Me Up"
Brendan Graham (IMRO)
Peermusic (Ireland), Ltd.

Seven Nominations
Casting Crowns

Six Nominations
Gerald Crabb
The Crabb Family
Mark Hall

Five Nominations
Matt Bronleewe
Wayne Haun
Israel Houghton
Otto Price

Four Nominations
Steven Curtis Chapman
Fred Hammond
Martha Munizzi
Joe Pace

Three Nominations
Paul Allen
Mike Bowling
Building 429
Ed Cash
Hector Cervantes
Jim Cooper
Jason Crabb
Day of Fire
Kenny Greenberg
Toby McKeehan
Thousand Foot Crutch
Bebe Winans

Two Nominations
Bobby All
Josiah Bell
Kene Bell
Myron Butler
Teron Carter
Barry D.
Paul Ebersold
Michael English
Lari Goss
Brendan Graham
Chris Huffman
The Isaacs
Jars of Clay
Rodney Jerkins
Stacy Jones
Doyle Lawson & Quicksilver
The Lewis Family
Aaron Lindsey
Lisa McClendon
Trevor McNevan
The Oak Ridge Boys
Charlie Peacock
Club Zoo Music
Steve Moore
J Moss
Israel & New Breed
Dave Moody
Dottie Peoples
The Perrys
Jason Roy
Martin Smith
Songs From the Farm Publishing
Taylor Sorensen
Aaron Sprinkle
Angie Stone

Single Nominees
Yolanda Adams
Audio Adrenaline
Alejandro Allen
Duane Allen
Steve Augustine
Percy Bady
Joe Baldridge
Cindy Ballard
Joe Beck
Barry Beckett
Rob Beckley
Big Tent Revival
Big Dismal
Kevin Bond
Joe Bonsall
Kelly Bowling
Rebecca Isaacs Bowman
Clint Brown
Gavin Brown
Joel Bruyere
Billy Buchanan
Marc Byrd
Cedric Caldwell
Eulises Canada
Champions for Christ Music Publishing
Chigger Hill Boys & Terri
Aaron Crabb
Ryan Clark
Don Cook
Adam Crabb
Billy Ray Cyrus
Dayspring Music
Christine Dente
Scott Dente
Darryl Dixon
Jeff & Sherri Easter
Lester Estelle
Sara Evans
Kirk Franklin
Stuart Garrard
Terri Argot Gore
Greater Vision
Brian Green
Greenberg Music
George Hamilton IV with the Moody Brothers
Dan Haseltine
Patti Hawkins
Hawk Nelson
Maurice Henderson
Noah Henson
Bob Herdman
Kim Hill
Gregg Hionis
Stephen Hurd
Integrity's Praise! Music
Sonya Isaacs
Mahalia Jackson
Fred Jerkins
Stan Jones
Wayne Kirkpatrick
Jennifer Knapp
Rodney Lay, Jr.
Lehsem Songs
Lifegate Music
Michael Linney
Charlie Lowell
Joyce Martin McCullough
Robert Marvin
Stephen Mason
Donnie McClurkin
Nelson McSwain
Mark A. Miller
Gordon Mote
Dan Munizzi
Matt Odmark
Erin O'Donnell
Solomon Olds
Michael Parker
Sandi Patty
Rebecca J. Peck
PeerMusic III
Peermusic (Ireland), Ltd.
Praise Street Worship Band
The Principles
Andrew Ramsey
Ric Robbins
George Rowe
Shannon Sanders
Donna Smith
Matthew Smith
Songs of Windswept Pacific
Sound of the New Breed
Scott Stapp
Christopher Stevens
Rebecca St. James
Kevin Stokes
Mark Stuart
Marty Stuart
Jerry Sullivan
Mooki Taylor
Jon Thatcher
Linda Thompson
Michael Tait
Talley Trio
Troy Vest
Asaph Ward
Earl Wright III
Paul Wright
Young Harmony


The Weekly

Each week, Learn, Listen, Watch, Discover and Share with BMI! From must-see videos, to creative inspiration and dynamic playlists we’re excited about, BMI’s The Weekly is dedicated to delivering specially curated content designed for music creators and music fans alike!

Join BMI Live

BMI Live
Back to Top