Cecil Walker Elected Chairman of BMI Board

Posted in News on October 17, 2004
Cecil L. Walker of Atlanta, GA, the former President & CEO of Gannett Broadcasting, has been elected Chairman of the BMI Board of Directors, it was announced today. He joined the board in 1998 and previously served as Vice Chairman.

Recently named BMI President & CEO Del R. Bryant was elected to his first four-year term on the board.

Re-elected to the board were Amador Bustos, Managing Partner, Bustos Media Holdings LLC, Granite Bay, CA; Philip A. Jones of Mission Hills, KS; and John A. (Jack) Sanders, Executive VP, Media Operations & President/Television of Belo Corporation, Dallas, TX. Their terms expire in 2008.

Stuart Rosen, BMI Assistant Vice President, Legal Affairs, was elected Corporate Secretary.

Continuing in their terms are: James G. Babb, President, Babb Communications, Charlotte, N.C.; Harold C. Crump, VP, Corporate Affairs of Hubbard Broadcasting Inc., St. Paul, MN; N. John Douglas, Chairman & CEO of AIM Broadcasting LLC, Palo Alto, CA; Craig A. Dubow, President & CEO, Gannett Broadcasting, McLean, VA; Kenneth J. Elkins, Director, Pulitzer Inc., and Director, Hearst Argyle Television, St. Louis MO, who just completed his third term as Chairman of the BMI Board; Catherine L. Hughes, Founder & Chairperson, Radio One, Inc., Baltimore, MD; Jerome L. Kersting, CFO, Clear Channel Radio, San Antonio, TX; Frank E. Melton, Chairman & CEO, WLBT-TV, Jackson, MS; G. Neil Smith, President GNS Media LLC, Liberty, SC; Donald A. Thurston, President, Berkshire Broadcasting Co., Inc., North Adams, MS; George V. Willoughby of Seattle, WA; and K. James Yager, CEO, Barrington Broadcasting Co., LLC, Hoffman Estates, IL.