Loretta Lynn, Mindy Smith Take Over Americana Field

Posted in News on July 27, 2004
Allison Moorer and Buddy Miller were on hand at a BMI-hosted reception to announce the nominees for the 2004 Americana Honors and Awards, to be presented by the Americana Music Association (AMA) Sept. 24 in Nashville. The awards ceremony, co-sponsored by BMI, will be part of the Americana Music Association Conference set for Sept. 23-25 at the Nashville Convention Center.

Pictured at the nomination announcement at BMI Nashville are BMI's Mark Mason, Allison Moorer, Buddy Miller and the Americana Music Association's J.D. May.

With three mentions each, BMI writer/artists Loretta Lynn and Mindy Smith are the leading finalists. Lynn was nominated as Artist of the Year and was cited in the album category for Van Lear Rose and the song category for "Portland, Oregon."

Loretta Lynn Mindy Smith Slaid Cleaves

Smith joined Lynn on the album list with One Moment More and on the song list with "Come To Jesus." She is also nominated in the newly-created New/Emerging Artist category.

BMI affiliate Slaid Cleaves earned two mentions: for the album Wishbones and the title song.

Allison Moorer Adrienne Young Jerry Douglas

Other BMI nominees announced at the reception were Allison Moorer, Adrienne Young, the Greencards, Old Crow Medicine Show, and instrumentalists Jerry Douglas, Kenny Vaughan, Sam Bush and Will Kimbrough.

Old Crow Medicine Show Greencards

BMI's 2004 Americana Honors and Awards Nominees

Album of the Year
One Moment More
Mindy Smith
Van Lear Rose
Loretta Lynn
Slaid Cleaves

Artist of the Year
Loretta Lynn
Allison Moorer

Kenny Vaughan Sam Bush Will Kimbrough

Song of the Year
"Come to Jesus"
Mindy Smith
"Portland, Oregon"
Loretta Lynn
Slaid Cleaves

Sam Bush
Jerry Douglas
Will Kimbrough
Kenny Vaughan

New/Emerging Artist
Old Crow Medicine Show
Mindy Smith
Adrienne Young