Van Morrison, Little Richard Among 2003 Song Hall Honorees

Posted in News on January 16, 2003
The National Academy of Popular Music/Songwriters Hall of Fame, the organization dedicated to recognizing the work and lives of those composers and lyricists who create popular music around the world, returns for its highly anticipated 34th annual induction and awards dinner, scheduled for Thursday, June 12 at the Marriott Marquis Hotel in New York City. In an official statement, Songwriters Hall of Fame Chairman/CEO Hal David announced some of this year's inductees including BMI songwriter/artists Van Morrison, Little Richard, Phil Collins and Queen. Other honorees will be announced at a later date.

"This year's Songwriters' Hall of Fame inductees comprise a global representation, highlighting the universality of music," commented Hal David. "This event is very special because it's a time when premier songwriters come together to honor their own. We are looking forward to another terrific evening, one of the high points of the year."

The National Academy of Popular Music/Songwriters' Hall of Fame was founded in 1969 by songwriter Johnny Mercer and publishers Abe Olman and Howie Richmond. The NAPM/SHOF is also devoted to the development of new songwriting talent through workshops, showcases and scholarships.

Over the course of the past 33 years, some key Songwriters' Hall of Fame inductees have included Bob Dylan, Billy Joel, Sir Elton John, Bernie Taupin, Stevie Wonder, Brian Wilson, James Taylor, James Brown, Curtis Mayfield, Jim Croce, Hal David and Burt Bacharach, among many, many others.

Ticket information will be available shortly.