Preston Honored with NSAI’s President’s Award

Posted in News on April 16, 2002

The Nashville Songwriters Association International (NSAI) recently recognized five outstanding supporters of songwriters during the Legendary Songwriters Acoustic Concert at the Ryman Auditorium. BMI President and CEO Frances W. Preston received the President's Award in recognition of her significant contributions to the betterment of all songwriters. Awards were presented by NSAI Executive Director Bart Herbison during the kick-off event for Tin Pan South (April 1-6), an annual festival that attracts and embraces the best songwriters from all over the world who gather in Nashville for the week-long celebration of songs and writers.

Frances Preston

Tennessee Senator Fred Thompson

Other award recipients included Tennessee Senator Fred Thompson who received the White Hat Award for a public or political figure who has significantly served the interests of the songwriting community; Nashville Convention & Visitors Bureau Executive Vice President Butch Spyridon who was honored with the Stephen Foster Award for his generous support of, and longtime dedication to, songwriters, the music industry, NSAI and Tin Pan South; Brad Paisley who received the Songwriter/Artist of the Year Award; and singer/songwriter Beth Nielsen Chapman who was given The Maggie Cavender Award of Service.