BMI Heads Class of 2001 Song Hall Inductees

Posted in News on June 12, 2001

BMI songwriters, artists and publishers once again lead the class of inductees into the Songwriter's Hall of Fame (SHOF), announced March 19 by The National Academy of Popular Music (NAPM). Congratulations to BMI family members Dolly Parton, Willie Nelson, Eric Clapton (PRS), publisher Ralph Peer (Abe Olman Publisher Award), and Emilio Estefan, who will receive the Sammy Cahn Lifetime Achievement Award. The 32nd Annual Songwriters Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony will take place this Thursday, June 14 at the Sheraton Hotel and Towers in New York City.

Willie Nelson

Gloria Estefan

Eric Clapton

Other inductees include Diane Warren, Paul Williams and Billy Joel, who will receive the Johnny Mercer Award. "Let Me Call You Sweetheart" will receive the Towering Song Award.

Candidates for induction are selected by a nominating committee from the Academy. Only writers who have an extensive catalogue of hit songs spanning a career of at least 20 years are eligible, with the exception of posthumous writers who have made a major impact on popular music in less than 20 years.

Tickets for this gala event are $750 each and all proceeds go directly to the NAPM/SHOF to help raise funds for a new songwriting museum in New York City. Opened in 1977 at One Times Square, the original Hall of Fame Museum closed when the building was sold in 1983.


The Weekly

Each week, Learn, Listen, Watch, Discover and Share with BMI! From must-see videos, to creative inspiration and dynamic playlists we’re excited about, BMI’s The Weekly is dedicated to delivering specially curated content designed for music creators and music fans alike!

Join BMI Live

BMI Live
Back to Top