BMI Foundation’s Lennon Scholarship Winners

Posted in News on May 14, 2001


Winners of the 4th annual John Lennon Scholarship are congratulated by scholarship benefactor Yoko Ono after the presentation. Shown from left are Honorable Mention winners Frank Dillon and Thomas P. Conlon, 2nd place winners (tie) Ben Ward and Michael Flynn, Ono, 1st place winner Margarita Shamrakov, 3rd place winner Mark Tewarson and Honorable Mention winner Daniel Romer-Friedman.

Seen here enjoying the cocktail reception are (l-r): Suzan Jenkins, RIAA Senior Vice President of Marketing, who served as a judge and presenter; Henry Juszkiewicz, Gibson Guitars President and CEO; Lennon Scholarship benefactor Yoko Ono; Theodora Zavin, BMI Foundation President; Frances Preston, BMI President and CEO; and legendary record producer Arif Mardin, who also served as a judge and presenter.

Gibson Guitar's Henry Juszkiewicz and BMI's Frances Preston

2nd place winner, Ben Ward, receives a plaque and some applause from judges Arif Mardin and Suzan Jenkins

1st place winner, Margarita Shamrakov, is pleased to meet Yoko Ono and BMI Foundation President Thea Zavin


All photos: Chuck Pulin


The Weekly

Each week, Learn, Listen, Watch, Discover and Share with BMI! From must-see videos, to creative inspiration and dynamic playlists we’re excited about, BMI’s The Weekly is dedicated to delivering specially curated content designed for music creators and music fans alike!

Join BMI Live

BMI Live
Back to Top