Chicks ‘Fly’ High at CMA’s

Posted in News on October 4, 2000

BMI's country darlings the Dixie Chicks were the big winners last night at the 34th Annual Country Music Association Awards held at the Grand Ole Opry in Nashville. They took home 4 awards including Album of the Year for their 10-million-selling CD Fly. Husband and wife duo Faith Hill and Tim McGraw won Female and Male Vocalist of the Year, respectively, and is the second consecutive Male Vocalist award for McGraw.

The Dixie Chicks with director Evan Bernard accepting Video of the Year honors for "Goodbye Earl"

"I Hope You Dance" writers Mark D. Sanders and Tia Sillers collect the Song of the Year award

1999 Entertainer of the Year Shania Twain announced this year's winner: the Dixie Chicks

Dixie Chicks Emily Robison, Natalie Maines and Martie Seidel accept Entertainer of the Year accolades

Tim McGraw claims the Male Vocalist of the Year title

Complete List of BMI Winners

Entertainer of the Year
Dixie Chicks

Song of the Year
"I Hope You Dance"
written by Tia Sillers
pubished by Choice Is Tragic Music and Ensign Music Corp.

Single of the Year
"I Hope You Dance"
produced by Mark Wright

Album of the Year
Dixie Chicks
produced by Blake Chancey

Female Vocalist of the Year
Faith Hill

Faith Hill accepts the Female Vocalist of the year trophy from Kix Brooks and Ronnie Dunn

Male Vocalist of the Year
Tim McGraw

Vocal Group of the Year
Dixie Chicks

Vocal Duo of the Year
Montgomery Gentry

Montgomery Gentry performed with special guest Charlie Daniels shortly before being named Vocal Duo of the Year

Music Video of the Year
"Goodbye Earl"
Dixie Chicks

photos by Don Putnam


The Weekly

Each week, Learn, Listen, Watch, Discover and Share with BMI! From must-see videos, to creative inspiration and dynamic playlists we’re excited about, BMI’s The Weekly is dedicated to delivering specially curated content designed for music creators and music fans alike!

Join BMI Live

BMI Live
Back to Top