Theater World Honors BMI Composers Kander and Ebb

Posted in News on June 7, 2000

BMI theatre composers John Kander and Fred Ebb were honored on June 5 with the Oscar Hammerstein Award presented by the New York Theatre Company during its annual fundraiser. This multiple Tony, Grammy, Oscar and Emmy winning pair has created some of Broadway’s top hits over the last three decades, including Cabaret, Chicago and Kiss of the Spider Woman. Named for the lyricist who helped shaped American musical theatre, the award was created in 1988 to recognize significant lifetime achievement in the field.


Photo: Robbin Ahrold

Seen here after the award presentation are (l-r): BMI’s Frances Preston, President and CEO; Ebb; BMI’s Jean Banks, Senior Director, Theater and Jazz; and Kander.