BMI Soars at Dove Awards

Posted in News on April 23, 2000
Steven Curtis Chapman won six Dove Awards during the Gospel Music Association’s 31st annual ceremony (4/20), bringing his career total to a record 44 Doves. On the strength of his Sparrow album Speechless, he was named Artist of the Year and Male Vocalist of the Year; Speechless and the single "Dive" each brought him a pair of trophies (as artist/producer and artist/songwriter, respectively) in their Pop/Contemporary categories.

Chapman, who became the first performer to win Artist of the Year six times, now has won at least one Dove Award for each of 12 consecutive years.

BMI double winners were Group of the Year Sixpence None the Richer, Fred Hammond, Dottie Peoples and Richard Smallwood.

BMI writer Wes King shared the coveted Song of the Year trophy with Michael W. Smith for "This Is Your Time," inspired in the aftermath of the Columbine High School shooting in Colorado. The song is co-published by Sparrow Song and Uncle Ivan Music.
BMI Dove Award Winners

Teron Carter
Stacey Jones
Ric Robbins
Otto Price
Jars of Clay
Dan Haseltine
Matt Odmark
Steve Mason
Charlie Lowell
Audio Adrenaline
Mark Stuart
Bob Herdman
Will McGinniss
George Jones
Lewis Family
Wayne Haun
Kim Rutherford
Matt Bronleewe
Monroe Jones
The Bishops
Mark Bishop
Glen Campbell
Barry Beckett
Steven Ford
Tony Rich
Kern Brantley
Chris Rodriguez
dc Talk
Dan Pitts


The Weekly

Each week, Learn, Listen, Watch, Discover and Share with BMI! From must-see videos, to creative inspiration and dynamic playlists we’re excited about, BMI’s The Weekly is dedicated to delivering specially curated content designed for music creators and music fans alike!

Join BMI Live

BMI Live
Back to Top