May 12, 2022

Brian Tyler Named a BMI Icon at BMI’s 38th Annual Film, TV and Visual Media Awards

Women Warriors: The Voices of Change by BMI Composers Amy Andersson, Miriam Cutler, Isolde Fair, Penka Kouneva, Starr Parodi and Lolita Ritmanis Received the BMI Impact Award

The Ceremony also Celebrated the Previous Year’s Top Composers for Film, TV and Visual Media

LOS ANGELES, CA (May 11, 2022) – Tonight, BMI (Broadcast Music, Inc.) held its 38th Annual BMI Film, TV and Visual Media Awards to celebrate the top performing composers in film, TV and visual media of the past year. The highest honor of the evening went to renowned composer Brian Tyler, who was named a BMI Icon for his exceptional body of work and phenomenal success as a composer, orchestral conductor and music producer. In addition, the BMI Impact Award was presented to BMI composers Amy Andersson, Miriam Cutler, Isolde Fair, Penka Kouneva, Starr Parodi and Lolita Ritmanis, in recognition of their profound work on Women Warriors: The Voices of Change. BMI President and CEO Mike O’Neill, BMI EVP of Creative and Licensing Mike Steinberg and BMI SVP of Creative Alex Flores hosted the private ceremony.

O’Neill presented Tyler with the BMI Icon accolade, noting that he truly defines the term “rock-star composer.” He went on to say, “Your outstanding music and unique artistry enrich the emotion and stories of the films and shows we love to immerse ourselves in. Thank you for always elevating our experience and for sharing your singular creative vision with all of us.”

A video tribute followed, in which some of Tyler’s peers including Justin Baldoni, Jon Chu, DJ Caruso, Taylor Sheridan, Sylvester Stallone and others shared their experiences with the esteemed composer. As he accepted the honor, Tyler thanked BMI and said, “I will look back on this as one of the highlights of my life. It is a privilege to be among you talented and incredible human beings to receive this honor.”

Tyler is among the top ten highest-grossing film composers of all-time, scoring more than 100 films including box office hits such as Avengers: Age of Ultron, the Fast and Furious franchise, Iron Man 3, Thor: The Dark World, Rambo, Charlie’s Angels, Scream and Crazy Rich Asians, among others. His television credits are equally as impressive, including 1883, Yellowstone, Scorpion, Magnum PI, Hawaii Five-0, Last Call, Sleepy Hollow and Transformers: Prime. Throughout his career, Tyler has amassed numerous accolades including 38 BMI Awards, three Emmy Award nominations, and 12 GoldSpirit Awards, including Composer of the Year. He is also a skilled orchestral conductor and multi-instrumentalist and has conducted symphonic concerts around the globe. Tyler joins a prestigious list of BMI Icon Award recipients including John Williams, Alan Silvestri, Alexandre Desplat, Mike Post, James Newton Howard and Terence Blanchard, among others.

O’Neill and BMI EVP of Distribution, Publisher Relations & Administration Services, Alison Smith, presented the BMI Impact Award to BMI composers Amy Andersson, Miriam Cutler, Isolde Fair, Penka Kouneva, Starr Parodi and Lolita Ritmanis, in recognition of their groundbreaking artistry, creative vision and impact on the future of music with Women Warriors: The Voices of Change. The documentary film honors some of the world’s most compelling female activists from around the globe and has received a Hollywood Music in Media Award, Anthem Awards, and awards for Best Composer or Best Original Score at the Independent Film Awards in Berlin, Chicago, New York and Toronto. The album also won a GRAMMY for Best Classical Compendium. Upon receiving the award, Andersson, the creator of the project said, “As BMI composers and lyricists, we accept this Impact Award with deep honor and a sense of accomplishment and pride.” Parodi went on to add, “Women Warriors was born from a dream and from the deep desire to pay tribute and honor these women whose shoulders we stand on.”

Many other prominent composers were also saluted throughout the ceremony for music featured in the past year’s top-grossing films, top-rated network television series and highest-ranking cable network and streamed media programs. Some of the night’s multiple award winners included James Newton Howard, Blake Neely, Thomas Newman, Atli Örvarsson, Mac Quayle, Carlos Rafael Rivera, Atticus Ross and Brian Tyler, among others.  The evening also celebrated eighteen first-time BMI Film, TV and Visual Media award recipients including Awkwafina, Nicholas Britell, Nick Chuba, Daniel Davies, Keegan Dewitt, Jermaine Stegall, Tamar-kali, Jessica Rose Weiss, and others.

For a complete list of winners, as well as information on BMI’s film and television composers and events, please visit:

High-resolution photos and video footage can be downloaded here:

Celebrating over 80 years of service to songwriters, composers, music publishers and businesses, Broadcast Music, Inc.® (BMI®) is a global leader in music rights management, serving as an advocate for the value of music. BMI represents the public performance rights in over 18.7 million musical works created and owned by more than 1.2 million songwriters, composers, and music publishers. The Company negotiates music license agreements and distributes the fees it generates as royalties to its affiliated writers and publishers when their songs are performed in public. In 1939, BMI created a groundbreaking open-door policy becoming the only performing rights organization to welcome and represent the creators of blues, jazz, country, and American roots music. Today, the musical compositions in BMI’s repertoire, from chart toppers to perennial favorites, span all genres of music and are consistently among the most-performed hits of the year. For additional information and the latest BMI news, visit, follow us on Twitter and Instagram @BMI or stay connected through Broadcast Music, Inc.‘s Facebook page. Sign up for BMI’s BMI’s The Weekly™ and receive our e-newsletter every week to stay up to date on all things music.

Press Contact
Beatriz Aguilar
.(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address)