November 15, 2021

BMI Salutes its Top Song Winners for the 2021 BMI Country Awards

 Jesse Frasure Named Songwriter of the Year
“One Of Them Girls” by Dallas Davidson and Ben Johnson Receives Song of the Year
Sony Music Publishing and Warner Chappell Music Tie for Publisher of the Year
The 50 Most-Performed Country Songs of the Previous Year Are Also Celebrated

Nashville, TN (November 15, 2021) - Today, BMI (Broadcast Music, Inc.) paid tribute to the best in songwriting for its 69th Annual BMI Country Awards. The top songwriters, publishers and administrators of the previous year’s most-performed Country songs were celebrated across all BMI digital and social channels. Songwriter/producer Jesse Frasure was named Songwriter of the Year, “One of Them Girls,” co-written by Dallas Davidson and Ben Johnson, won Song of the Year and the Publisher of the Year award went to both Sony Music Publishing and Warner Chappell Music in a historic tie. To honor these achievements, BMI created a special page on its website where fans can watch video messages, listen to award-winning music, and learn more about their favorite Country songwriters. For more information on BMI’s top Country songwriters, go to

“Songwriters and publishers are the lifeblood of our business and our Nashville community, and it is an honor to represent and award our members every year,” said Clay Bradley, VP, Nashville. “We are thrilled to celebrate the phenomenal songwriters and publishers whose talent and hard work continue to propel our genre to new heights. We look forward to inviting you all back into our BMI home in 2022.”

Powerhouse songwriter Jesse Frasure is receiving the Songwriter of the Year honor for a second time. He penned five of the year’s most-performed songs, including “Almost Maybes,” “ hole in the bottle,” “One Big Country Song,” “One Thing Right,” and “What’s Your Country Song.”

Co-written by Dallas Davidson and Ben Johnson, Song of the Year, “One of Them Girls,” was recorded by Lee Brice and certified double platinum by the RIAA in August of this year. It spent three weeks at the No. 1 position on the Billboard Country Airplay chart and has remained in the Top 10 each recurrent week. Additionally, the song has over 390 million on-demand streams to date. This honor marks the 30th BMI County Award for Dallas Davidson and the very first for Ben Johnson.

For the first time in 33 years, the Publisher of the Year designation ended with a tie between Sony Music Publishing and Warner Chappell Music. Collectively, the publishing powerhouses represent a combined total of 36 of this year’s award-winning titles. Sony Music Publishing’s award-winning titles include “ONE BEER,” “Lovin’ on You,” “I Called Mama,” and “Beer Can’t Fix.” Warner-Chappell Music’s titles include “I Hope You’re Happy Now,” “I Love My Country,” and “One Night Standards.” 

BMI also celebrated the songwriters and publishers of the 50 most-performed Country songs of the year. Among the songs honored are “Bluebird,” “Heartless,” “The Good Ones,” and “I Should Probably Go to Bed.” This year’s winners include 24 first-time BMI Country Award recipients, such as Ashley McBryde, Parker McCollum, and Taylor Kerr of Maddie & Tae. Additional winners include Miranda Lambert, Michael Hardy, Natalie Hemby, Shy Carter, Luke Combs, Kane Brown, and more.

For a complete list of 2021 BMI Country Award winners and to learn more about your favorite BMI songwriters, please visit and go to @BMI and #BMICountryAwards on social media to follow the conversation.