Paul Karpowicz Elected Chairman of BMI Board; Susan Davenport Austin Elected Presiding Director

Caroline Beasley and William Hoffman Elected to Board

Posted in News on October 7, 2014
Pictured: Paul Karpowicz
Pictured: Paul Karpowicz

Paul Karpowicz, President of the Meredith Local Media Group, was elected Chairman of the Board of Directors of Broadcast Music, Inc. (BMI) at a Board meeting held today in Nashville, TN. He was most recently Vice Chair of the BMI Board of Directors. Mr. Karpowicz succeeds Susan Davenport Austin, Vice Chairman of Sheridan Broadcasting Corporation and Senior Managing Director of Brock Capital Group, who was elected Presiding Director at the meeting. Mr. Karpowicz joined the BMI Board in 2007.

Mr. Karpowicz was appointed to his current position with Meredith in February 2005 and is responsible for the direction of Meredith’s 12 television stations. He has nearly 30 years experience in the industry, including more than 20 years at LIN, where he presided over the growth of its station group from 12 to 23 stations. Previously, he served as Vice President and General Manager for WISH-TV in Indianapolis, Indiana. Mr. Karpowicz is a member of the National Association of Broadcasters (NAB) Executive Committee. He has served as Chairman of the CBS Affiliates Board, the NAB Television Board and the Television Bureau of Advertising Board. He is a graduate of Notre Dame University.

The Company also held its Annual Shareholder Meeting today. Newly elected to the Board were Caroline Beasley, Executive Vice President, Chief Financial Officer, Treasurer and Secretary of the Naples, Florida-based Beasley Broadcast Group, Inc. and William S. Hoffman, President of Cox Media Group, the integrated broadcasting, publishing and digital media subsidiary of Cox Enterprises, Inc., based in Atlanta, Georgia. In addition to her responsibilities at Beasley Broadcast Group, Ms. Beasley has served as a past Chairman of the NAB Radio Board. In addition to his responsibilities at Cox, Mr. Hoffman serves on the NAB TV Board, on the Board of the Broadcasters Foundation of America, the ABC Board of Governors, where he was a former Chairman, and on the Board of the Associated Press.

Re-elected as members of the Board were Michael Fiorile, President and CEO of The Dispatch Printing Company, and Vice Chairman and CEO of Dispatch Broadcast Group, Columbus, OH; Catherine L. Hughes, the Founder and Chairperson of Radio One, Inc., Silver Spring, MD; and Jerome L. Kersting, Cincinnati, Ohio. All will serve terms that will expire in 2018.

Continuing in their terms on the Board of Directors are: Michael O’Neill, President and CEO, BMI, New York, NY; Amador Bustos, President and CEO, Bustos Media Holdings, LLC, Portland, OR; Albert Cheng, EVP and Chief Product Officer, Digital Media, Disney/ABC Television Group, Burbank, CA; Craig A. Dubow, Great Falls, VA; Philip A. Jones, Mission Hills, KS; Dave Lougee, President, Gannett Broadcasting, McLean, VA; Virginia Hubbard Morris, Vice President, Hubbard Broadcasting, Inc. and Chair and CEO, Hubbard Radio, LLC, St. Paul, MN; Steven W. Newberry, President and CEO of Commonwealth Broadcasting Corporation, Glasgow, KY; Mark Pedowitz, President, The CW Network, Burbank CA; Jack Sander, Scottsdale AZ; and G. Neil Smith, President, GNS Media, LLC, Liberty, SC.

Honorary Directors are N. John Douglas, Chairman and CEO, AIM Broadcasting, LLC, Palo Alto, CA; and Ken J. Elkins, St. Louis, MO.