Harrington Awards Honor Theatre Workshop Students

Posted in News on June 12, 2007

The 8th BMI Foundation Jerry Harrington Awards for Creative Excellence were given at a ceremony held on June 11 at the BMI New York offices. These awards, funded by BMI Assistant Vice President and BMI Foundation board member Evelyn Buckstein in honor of her colleague, the late Jerry Harrington, who was passionately devoted to musical theatre, are given to a member of each BMI Lehman Engel Musical Theatre Workshop group. Jeff Marx and Bobby Lopez, co-writers of the Tony-winning Avenue Q, were recipients of the award in 2000, the first year they were given out.

photo Pictured (l-r) are: Patrick Cook, artistic coordinator of the Workshop and co-moderator of First and Second Year classes; Simon Gray, First Year; Jennie Redling, Second Year; Allen Mogol, librettist; Joy Son, Advanced; Linda Dowdell, Second Year; and BMI’s Jean Banks. Not pictured is Steve Routman, Advanced, who is currently on tour


The Weekly

Each week, Learn, Listen, Watch, Discover and Share with BMI! From must-see videos, to creative inspiration and dynamic playlists we’re excited about, BMI’s The Weekly is dedicated to delivering specially curated content designed for music creators and music fans alike!

Join BMI Live

BMI Live
Back to Top