BMI Affiliates Win Big at 2016 Blues Music Awards

8 more inducted into Blues Hall of Fame

Posted in News on May 18, 2016
Victor Wainwright accepts his award at the 2016 Blues Music Awards.
Victor Wainwright accepts his award at the 2016 Blues Music Awards. Photo: Laura Carbone

The Halloran Performance Center, which is the new addition to the Orpheum Theater in Memphis, provided the perfect venue for the Blues Hall of Fame induction ceremony and dinner on May 4, 2016, where BMI affiliates once again dominated the field of honorees. Bluesmen Jimmy Johnson, Eddy Clearwater, and John Mayall (PRS/BMI) were all inducted as artists, while Alan Lomax’s Blues in the Mississippi Night album, Arthur Crudup’s “That’s Alight,” Billy Boy Arnold’s “I Wish You Would,” Charles Brown’s “Merry Christmas Baby” and John Lee Hooker’s “Blues Before Sunrise” were also inducted as legendary works.

The following night, May 5, was also a memorable night for BMI at the 37th Blues Music Awards. Here are the winners - congratulations to all!

Acoustic Album:
Duke Robillard - The Acoustic Blues & Roots of Duke Robillard

Acoustic Artist
Doug MacLeod

Buddy Guy - Born to Play Guitar

Victor Wainwright & the Wild Roots

B.B. King Entertainer
Victor Wainwright

Contemporary Blues Album
Buddy Guy - Born to Play Guitar

Contemporary Blues Male Artist
Joe Louis Walker

Historical Album
Buzzin’ the Blues by Slim Harpo

Kim Wilson

Terry Hanck

Koko Taylor Award (Traditional Blues Female)
Ruthie Foster

Pinetop Perkins Piano Player
Allen Toussaint

Soul Blues Album
Billy Price with Otis Clay – This Time for Real

Soul Blues Female Artist
Bettye LaVette

Traditional Blues Male Artist
John Primer


The Weekly

Each week, Learn, Listen, Watch, Discover and Share with BMI! From must-see videos, to creative inspiration and dynamic playlists we’re excited about, BMI’s The Weekly is dedicated to delivering specially curated content designed for music creators and music fans alike!

Join BMI Live

BMI Live
Back to Top