BMI Congratulates its NaSHOF Inductees

Posted in News on November 2, 2021

Last night, the Nashville Songwriters Hall of Fame honored BMI songwriters Kent Blazy (“If Tommorow Never Comes,” “Ain’t Goin’ Down”), Rhett Akins (“Dirt on My Boots,” “Honey Bee”), John Scott Sherrill (Nothin’ But the Wheel,” “The Church on Cumberland Road) and Toby Keith (Should’ve Been a Cowboy,” ‘Beer for My Horses”) as new inductees to the famed organization. The prestigious presentations also included musical tributes by many BMI affiliates including Carrie Underwood, Jason Isbell, Kenny Chesney, Ronnie Dunn and Thomas Rhett, who sang one of his father’s biggest hits as an artist, “That Ain’t My Truck.”

NaSHOF has honored more than 200 writers since 1970. Last night’s ceremony included both the 2020 and 2021 classes of inductees due to the cancelation of last year’s presentation during the pandemic. Congratulations to all!


The Weekly

Each week, Learn, Listen, Watch, Discover and Share with BMI! From must-see videos, to creative inspiration and dynamic playlists we’re excited about, BMI’s The Weekly is dedicated to delivering specially curated content designed for music creators and music fans alike!

Join BMI Live

BMI Live
Back to Top