BMI Congratulates its AIM Award Winners

Posted in News on August 13, 2020

Earlier this week, the Association of Independent Music announced online, their 2020 award recipients with BMI-affiliated songwriters taking center stage in several categories. This year’s awards mark the twenty-first year of AIM, whose awards champion industry-leading creativity, innovation, and performance shown by independent artists, labels and outstanding individuals. Congratulations to all! Here’s the list of BMI-affiliated winners:

Pioneer Award in Association with Evoke Studios
Little Simz

Innovator Award in Association with Amazon Music
AJ Tracey*

PPL Award for Most Played New Independent Artist
Freya Ridings* (winner second year in a row!)

International Breakthrough

Best Independent Track (in association with Facebook)
Flying Lotus** – “More” (Ft. Anderson.paak)

Best Independent Album (in association with Spotify)
Sarathy Korwar* – More Arriving

Best [difficult] Second Album
FKA twigs* – Magdalene

Best Independent Remix
Lafawndah – Tourist X Nídia Rework**

One to Watch (in association with BBC Music Introducing)
Arlo Parks

Special Recognition
Vince Clarke*

Best Live Act in Association with Creative Technology
Five Finger Death Punch

*BMI via PRS
**Not affiliated with BMI


The Weekly

Each week, Learn, Listen, Watch, Discover and Share with BMI! From must-see videos, to creative inspiration and dynamic playlists we’re excited about, BMI’s The Weekly is dedicated to delivering specially curated content designed for music creators and music fans alike!

Join BMI Live

BMI Live
Back to Top