BMI Congratulates its 2018 Americana Music Award Winners and Honorees

Posted in News on September 13, 2018
Pictured are Jason Isbell and John Prine
Pictured are Jason Isbell and John Prine

The Ryman Auditorium in Nashville was the place to be last night for the Americana Music Honors & Awards Show. Again this year, BMI songwriters were at the top of the list of wins with Jason Isbell taking a notable three awards for Album of the Year for The Nashville Sound (produced by none other than the renowned David Cobb), Song of the Year for “If We Were Vampires,” and Duo/Group of the Year for Jason Isbell and the 400 Unit. In addition, BMI’s newest Troubadour Award recipient, John Prine, took the honors for Artist of the Year.

Here’s the complete list of BMI winners. Congratulations to all!

Album of the Year
The Nashville Sound, Jason Isbell and the 400 Unit, Produced by Dave Cobb

Artist of the Year

John Prine

Duo/Group of the Year

Jason Isbell and the 400 Unit

Emerging Act of the Year

Tyler Childers

Song of the Year

“If We Were Vampires,” Jason Isbell and the 400 Unit, Written by Jason Isbell

Instrumentalist of the Year

Molly Tuttle

Lifetime Achievement Award for Instrumentalist

Buddy Guy

Lifetime Achievement Award for Performance

Irma Thomas


The Weekly

Each week, Learn, Listen, Watch, Discover and Share with BMI! From must-see videos, to creative inspiration and dynamic playlists we’re excited about, BMI’s The Weekly is dedicated to delivering specially curated content designed for music creators and music fans alike!

Join BMI Live

BMI Live
Back to Top