GMA Nominations Praise BMI Gospel Music

Posted in News on March 14, 2006
BMI gospel artists and songwriters once again led the way in multiple mentions when nominations for the 37th Annual GMA Music Awards were announced last month. Presented by the Gospel Music Association during Gospel Music Week, the ceremony -- also known as the Dove Awards -- will be held April 5 at the Grand Ole Opry House in Nashville.

Aaron SprinkleRelient KEd Cash

Singer/songwriter/producer Aaron Sprinkle was showered with the most praise, earning eight nominations for his work with artists in a variety of categories, including pop/contemporary, rap/hip-hop and worship. Three of his nominations are for CD compilations that will compete for Special Event Album of the Year, including Happy Christmas Volume Four, Music Inspired by the Chronicles of Narnia: The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe and WoW Christmas Green.

Casting CrownsSteven Curtis Chapman

Pop-punk outfit Relient K came in with six nods, earning two for "Be My Escape," two for their album Mmhmm, and two as contributing artists on a pair of Special Event Album nominees.

Earning five nominations apiece were Christian rock band Casting Crowns, who will vie for Group and Artist of the Year; alt-rock group Switchfoot, whose Nothing Is Sound is up for Rock/Contemporary Album of the Year; and 2005's Producer of the Year Ed Cash, who hopes for a repeat win in that category.

Crabb FamilyJars of ClayWayne Haun

Southern gospel veterans the Crabb Family also took home five GMA nominations, with individual family members Gerald, Jason, Adam and Aaron each earning their own multiple nods.

Casting Crowns' lead singer Mark Hall picked up a total of four solo mentions, including two Song of the Year nominations for the hits "Lifesong" and "Voice of Truth." Pop/rock quartet Jars of Clay, producer Wayne Haun and Relient K frontman Matthew Theissen rounded out the quadruple nominees list.

CeCe WinansToby McKeehanSwitchfoot

BMI award-winning artist/songwriter Steven Curtis Chapman, who has collected 49 Dove Awards to date -- more than any other artist in gospel music history -- has a chance to pass the 50-trophy mark this year if any of his three nominations results in win.

Also earning triple nominations were 13-time GMA Award winner Lari Goss, gospel producer Sanchez Harley and church group Israel & New Breed; leader Israel Houghton is up for five of his own GMAs.

Other BMI nominees included double earners Ernie Haase & Signature Sound, Vince Gill, Grits, Kids In The Way, Dave Moody, tobyMac (Toby McKeehan) and CeCe Winans, as well as Yolanda Adams, Blind Boys of Alabama, Building 429, Fred Hammond, Rodney Jerkins, Lewis Family, Donnie McClurkin, Martha Munizzi, Dottie Peoples and George Teren, who is also up for a 2006 ACM Award.

Songwriter of the Year contenders will be revealed, along with the winner, at the 37th Annual GMA Music Awards ceremony, to be hosted by 2006 Dove nominees Rebecca St. James and Kirk Franklin. The recorded show will be televised in national syndication from April 15 to May 21.

Founded in 1964, the 4,500-member Gospel Music Association is dedicated to exposing, promoting and celebrating the gospel through music. The GMA represents all styles of gospel music including contemporary pop, rock, urban gospel, praise & worship, Southern gospel, country and children's gospel music. The GMA produces the GMA Music Awards, which recognize achievement in all genres of gospel music and are voted on by members of the GMA.

BMI's 2006 GMA Awards Nominees:

8 Nominations
Aaron Sprinkle

6 Nominations
Relient K

5 Nominations
Ed Cash
Casting Crowns
The Crabb Family
Israel Houghton
Aaron W. Lindsey
Otto Price

4 Nominations
Mark Hall
Dan Haseltine
Wayne Haun
Jars of Clay
Charlie Lowell
Steve Mason
Matt Odmark
Matthew Theissen

3 Nominations
Steven Curtis Chapman
Jason Crabb
Lari Goss
Sanchez Harley
Israel & New Breed

2 Nominations
Alletrope Music
Kelly Bowling
Kurt Carr
Teron Carter
Club Zoo Music
Gerald Crabb
Adam Crabb
Aaron Crabb
Christopher Davis
Ernie Haase & Signature Sound
Jerome Fontamillas
Vince Gill
Percy Gray, Jr.
Stacy Jones
Mat Kearney
Kids In The Way
Ay'Ron Lewis
Dave Moody
Ric Robbins
Rebecca St. James
tobyMac (Toby McKeehan)
CeCe Winans

Other Nominees

Yolanda Adams
Duane Allen
Paul Allen
Rev. F.C. Barnes
Luther Barnes
Blind Boys of Alabama
Ronald Block
Kevin Bond
Paul Boutte
Damon Bracy
Brian Free & Assurance
Building 429
Kyle Bynoe
Marc Byrd
Champions for Christ Publishing
Dean Chance
John Chelew
Stan Dailey
Alvin Darling
Daywind Music Group
Hector Diaz
Chris Eaton
Kirk Franklin
Aaron Gillespie
Rob Graves
Kenny Greenberg
Greenberg Music
Fred Hammond
Tom Hemby
Rick Hendrix
George Huff
Steve Huff
Integrity's Praise! Music
Rodney Jerkins
Lee Jerkins
Fred Jerkins III
Don Koch
Jean-Luc Lajoie
Shawn Lane
Frank Lenz
Lewis Family
Robert Marvin
Donnie McClurkin
Annie McRae
Nelson McSwain
Meaux Mercy
The Mighty Clouds of Joy
Buck Moore
Martha Munizzi
Michael Neale
Peach Hill Songs
Aaron Pearce
Dottie Peoples
Roger Ryan
Carolyn Sanders
Belinda Smith
Sparrow Song
Spinning Audio Vortex
Ralph Stanley
Ralph Stanley II
Derrick Starks
Christopher Stevens
Marty Stuart
George Teren
Rev. Gerald Thompson
Anthony Vero
Reed Vertelney
Tommy Walker
Fred Washington
Mark Whitehead
BeBe Winans
Marcos Witt


The Weekly

Each week, Learn, Listen, Watch, Discover and Share with BMI! From must-see videos, to creative inspiration and dynamic playlists we’re excited about, BMI’s The Weekly is dedicated to delivering specially curated content designed for music creators and music fans alike!

Join BMI Live

BMI Live
Back to Top