BMI Artists Dominate SPBGMA Nominations

Posted in News on January 26, 2005
BMI artists dominated nominations in every category in the Society for the Preservation of Bluegrass Music of America's 31st annual awards show, set to take place February 6 at Nashville's Sheraton Music City Hotel. Rhonda Vincent earned five mentions, including nods for Female Vocalist (Contemporary) -- which she won last year -- and Entertainer of the Year. Blue Highway and IIIrd Tyme Out are vying for five trophies as well; both are mentioned in the Vocal Group, Instrumental Group and Bluegrass Band categories. BlueRidge, Doyle Lawson & Quicksilver and Del McCoury each claim four nods, while the Churchmen, Mountain Heart, and Paul Williams & the Victory Trio earned three each.

Rhonda Vincent Blue Highway

During the ceremonies, mandolinist Jimmy Gaudreau will be inducted to SPBGMA's Hall of Greats, where bluegrass pioneers such as Hazel Dickens, Bill Monroe, and Flatt & Scruggs were enshrined in the past. The award festivities are planned as part of SPBGMA's 22nd National Convention & Band Championship, to be held February 3-6 in Nashville.

J.D. Crowe IIIrd Tyme Out

Congratulations to BMI's SPBGMA nominees:

Female Vocalist (Contemporary)
Dale Ann Bradley
Sonya Isaacs
Alison Krauss
Patty Loveless
Rhonda Vincent

Female Vocalist (Traditional)
Lynn Morris
Michelle Nixon
Valerie Smith
Jeanette Williams

Male Vocalist (Contemporary)

Ronnie Bowman
Larry Cordle
Chris Jones
Russell Moore
Jim Stack
Larry Stephenson

Carolina Road Bluegrass Brothers

Male Vocalist (Traditional)
James King
Del McCoury
Larry Sparks
Paul Williams

Gospel Group (Contemporary)
Blue Highway
The Churchmen
The Isaacs
The Marksmen
Mountain Heart
NewFound Road

Gospel Group (Traditional)
The Churchmen
Doyle Lawson & Quicksilver
The Sullivan Family
Paul Williams & The Victory Trio

Rob Ickes BlueRidge

Gospel Group (Overall)
Blue Highway
The Churchmen
The Lewis Family
The Marksmen
Paul Williams & The Victory Trio

Vocal Group
Blue Highway
Blue Ridge
Carolina Road
Doyle Lawson & Quicksilver
Mountain Heart
IIIrd Tyme Out

Instrumental Group
Blue Highway
J.D. Crowe & The New South
Lonesome River Band
Del McCoury Band
Rhonda Vincent & The Rage

Jimmy Gaudreau Doyle Lawson & Quicksilver

Bluegrass Band (Overall)
Blue Highway
Doyle Lawson & Quicksilver
Lonesome River Band
Mountain Heart
IIIrd Tyme Out
Rhonda Vincent & The Rage

Entertaining Group
Bluegrass Brothers
Carolina Road
Nothin' Fancy
IIIrd Tyme Out

Ronnie Bowman
Doyle Lawson
Del McCoury
Michelle Nixon
Rhonda Vincent
Jeff Weaver

Ronnie Bowman Lonesome River Band

Song (awarded to artist)
"The Best Durn Ride"
IIIrd Tyme Out

"Clinch Mountain Mystery"
The Larry Stephenson Band

"Eight More Miles to Louisville"
Sam Bush

"Mountain Song"
The Gibson Brothers

Harley Allen
Larry Cordle
Larry Shell
Chris Stuart
Tom T. Hall & Dixie Hall
Rhonda Vincent & Terry Herd

Dixie Hall & Tom T. Hall

Album of the Year
Best Durn Ride

IIIrd Tyme Out

It's My Turn
Michelle Nixon & Drive

Long Way Back Home
The Gibson Brothers

Side By Side

Songs of the American Spirit
Charlie Waller & The Country Gentlemen

Bass Fiddle
Missy Raines
Marshall Wilborn

Jerry Douglas
Rob Ickes
Randy Kohrs

Tim Stafford
Josh Williams

Wayne Benson
Alan Bibey
Jesse Brock
Jeremy Chapman
Dwight McCall
Ronnie McCoury

Cia Cherryholmes
J.D. Crowe
Rob McCoury
Aaron McDaris
Rick Pardue

Jason Barie
Hunter Barry
Molly Cherryholmes
Stuart Duncan
Ronnie Stuart

DJ of the Year
Larry Nixon


The Weekly

Each week, Learn, Listen, Watch, Discover and Share with BMI! From must-see videos, to creative inspiration and dynamic playlists we’re excited about, BMI’s The Weekly is dedicated to delivering specially curated content designed for music creators and music fans alike!

Join BMI Live

BMI Live
Back to Top