Theatre Workshop Gets Special Trip to ‘Avenue Q’

Posted in News on April 20, 2004
Jeff Marx and Robert Lopez, co-writers of the hit Broadway show Avenue Q, gave a special lecture to the BMI Lehman Engel Musical Theatre Workshop as part of a series entitled "Year of the Tune" developed by Workshop moderator Richard Enquist.

Pictured after the lecture are Workshop moderator Richard Engquist, composer/lyricists Jeff Marx and Robert Lopez, and BMI's Jean Banks. Photo by Eric Miller

Marx and Lopez, who met in the Workshop and developed the breakthrough Sesame Street parody there, received the 2000 Kleban Award. The coveted prize of $150,000, given annually to a lyricist and a librettist, was established by the late Ed Kleban, lyricist for the Tony Award- and Pulitzer Prize-winning musical A Chorus Line and an alumnus of the BMI Lehman Engel Musical Theatre Workshop.


The Weekly

Each week, Learn, Listen, Watch, Discover and Share with BMI! From must-see videos, to creative inspiration and dynamic playlists we’re excited about, BMI’s The Weekly is dedicated to delivering specially curated content designed for music creators and music fans alike!

Join BMI Live

BMI Live
Back to Top