Nashville Songwriters Hall of Fame Nominees Unveiled

Posted in News on October 8, 2003
The Nashville Songwriters Foundation (NSF) has announced this year's nominees for the Nashville Songwriters Hall of Fame. Winners will be revealed at the annual dinner and induction ceremony on Sunday, November 2. In the two categories of Songwriter and Songwriter/Artist, BMI affiliates accounted for 12 of the 15 nominations.

Randy Owen

Jerry Reed

John Prine

Freddie Hart

BMI nominees in the Songwriter division are Jim Anglin ("Ashes Of Love" and "Let Your Conscience Be Your Guide); Larry Henley ("Wind Beneath My Wings," "Lizzie and the Rain Man"); John Hiatt ("Angel Eyes," "She Don't Love Nobody"); Dennis Morgan ("I Was Country When Country Wasn't Cool," "I Wouldn't Have Missed It For the World"); Roger Murrah ("Don't Rock the Jukebox," "It's a Little Too Late"); Paul Overstreet ("Forever and Ever Amen," "On the Other Hand"); Thom Schuyler ("16th Avenue," "Years After You"); and Even Stevens ("Drivin' My Life Away," "No Matter How High").

BMI contenders on the Songwriter/Artist list are Freddie Hart ("Bless Your Heart," "Easy Loving"); Alabama's Randy Owen ("Feels So Right," "Lady Down On Love"); John Prine ("Paradise," "I Just Want To Dance With You"); and Jerry Reed ("When You're Hot, You're Hot," "East Bound and Down").

Two songwriters will be inducted from the first group and one from the second. In addition, Nashville Songwriters Foundation board members have selected yet another songwriter for induction whose name is not among previously announced, bringing the total to four who will be honored during the ceremony at Loew's Vanderbilt Plaza Hotel.


The Weekly

Each week, Learn, Listen, Watch, Discover and Share with BMI! From must-see videos, to creative inspiration and dynamic playlists we’re excited about, BMI’s The Weekly is dedicated to delivering specially curated content designed for music creators and music fans alike!

Join BMI Live

BMI Live
Back to Top