Patti LaBelle to Receive Song Hall’s Lifetime Achievement Award

Posted in News on May 19, 2003

The National Academy of Popular Music/Songwriters Hall of Fame, the organization dedicated to recognizing the work and lives of those composers and lyricists who create popular music around the world, has just announced that BMI artist/songwriter Patti LaBelle will be this year's recipient of the Lifetime Achievement Award at the 34th annual induction ceremony set for Thursday, June 12 at the Marriott Marquis Hotel in New York City.

Little Richard

Clive Davis

Van Morrison

Patti LaBelle

Other inductees were announced previously and include BMI songwriter/artists Van Morrison, Little Richard, Queen and RCA Music Group Chairman/CEO Clive Davis (Hitmaker Award), as well as Phil Collins, Tony Bennett (Towering Performance Award), "I Left My Heart In San Francisco" (Towering Song Award), Jimmy Webb (Johnny Mercer Award), EMI Music Publishing Chairman/CEO Marty Bandier (Patron of the Arts Award) and BMG Music Publishing Chairman Nicholas Firth (Abe Olman Publishing Award). National Music Publishers Association CEO Ed Murphy, who was granted the 2002 Abe Olman Award but was unable to attend last year's ceremony, will be presented belatedly with his award.

"This year's Songwriters' Hall of Fame inductees comprise a global representation, highlighting the universality of music," commented SHOF Chairman/CEO Hal David. "This event is very special because it's a time when premier songwriters come together to honor their own. We are looking forward to another terrific evening, one of the high points of the year."  

The National Academy of Popular Music/Songwriters' Hall of Fame was founded in 1969 by songwriter Johnny Mercer and publishers Abe Olman and Howie Richmond. The NAPM/SHOF is also devoted to the development of new songwriting talent through workshops, showcases and scholarships. Over the course of the past 33 years, some key Songwriters' Hall of Fame inductees have included Bob Dylan, Billy Joel, Sir Elton John, Bernie Taupin, Stevie Wonder, Brian Wilson, James Taylor, James Brown, Curtis Mayfield, Jim Croce, Hal David and Burt Bacharach, among many, many others.