BMI Christian Music Awards Will Shine Light on Songs June 24

Posted in News on June 10, 2002

BMI will honor the songwriters and publishers of the past year's most performed Christian songs at the 2002 BMI Christian Music Awards on Monday, June 24. Staged at the company's Music Row offices, the invitation-only event will spotlight the top songs in the Adult Contemporary, Christian Hit Radio, Inspirational, Rock, Southern Gospel and Urban Gospel categories.

Steven Curtis Chapman

Yolanda Adams

Kirk Franklin

Mark Schultz

Paul Corbin, Vice President, Writer/Publisher Relations, Nashville and Joyce Rice, Director, Writer/Publisher Relations, Nashville, will present Citations of Achievement recognizing the top five songs of each genre, with the ceremony culminating in the announcements of Christian Song, Songwriter, and Publisher of the Year (including all genres).

Previous winners include 2000 Songwriters of the Year Steven Curtis Chapman and Toby McKeehan, 2000 Song of the Year writer/artist Yolanda Adams, Mark Schultz, Rebecca St. James, Kevin Max, Michael Tait, Charlie Peacock, Jennifer Knapp, John L. Cooper, Pillar, Don Koch, Rodney Griffin, Gerald Crabb, Audio Adrenaline, Jeff Steele, Fred Hammond, Kirk Franklin, Donnie McClurkin and Joe Beck.

BMI's Citations of Achievement are given in recognition of popularity in the field of Christian music, as measured by feature broadcast performances on American radio and television. The eligibility period ran January 1, 2001 through December 31, 2001.