Bluegrass Museum Honors Pioneers

Posted in News on April 16, 2002

More than 500 bluegrass professionals gathered in Owensboro, Kentucky, for the grand opening of the International Bluegrass Music Museum (IBMM) in Riverpark Center on April 11. Special guests included Kentucky Governor Paul E. Patton, Owensboro Mayor Waymond Morris and nearly two dozen "first generation" bluegrass musicians who helped create the genre. During a VIP reception after the ribbon-cutting ceremonies, musicians Sonny Osborne and Eddie Stubbs (of WSM) unveiled a plaque from the International Bluegrass Music Association (IBMA) with the names of 231 bluegrass pioneers. Among those performing during various grand opening activities were Jim and Jesse McReynolds & the Virginia Boys, Sonny and Bobby Osborne, Rhonda Vincent & the Rage and Tim O'Brien.

IBMM Board Chairman Steven Brechter (with scissors) and Gov. Paul Patton (at mic) declare the museum open

Virtually all writers enshrined in the Hall of Honor are BMI affiliates, including Bill Monroe, Earl Scruggs, Lester Flatt, Ralph and Carter Stanley, Don Reno, Mac Wiseman, Jim and Jesse McReynolds, Sonny and Bobby Osborne, Jimmy Martin, Peter V. Kuykendall, "The Classic" Country Gentlemen Charlie Waller, John Duffey and Eddie Adcock, Chubby Wise and Maybelle Carter.

BMI's David Preston, IBMM Board Chairman Steven Brechter, Owensboro Mayor Waymond Morris, BMI's Mark Mason

BMI's Mark Mason, IBMM Board Chairman Steven Brechter, Del McCoury, BMI's David Preston

BMI's Paul Corbin, Tom T. & Dixie Hall, BMI's Mark Mason and David Preston

Preparing to broadcast live on WSM 650: Hairl Hensley, Eddie Stubbs, Johnnie Wright & Kitty Wells

BMI's Mark Mason, IBMA Executive Director Dan Hays, Sugar Hill Records's Bev Paul, BMI's David Preston