Broadcasting’s Elite Gather for Gracie Awards

Posted in News on April 7, 2002

American Women in Radio and Television (AWRT) will honor the 2002 National Gracie Allen Award winners at a celebrity gala at the New York Hilton Grand Ballroom on Wednesday, April 17. The event is co-sponsored by BMI, and featuresJoan Rivers as this year's Host and Honorary Chair. The Gracie Allen Awards (also known as "the Gracies") recognize exemplary programming created for women, by women and about women in all facets of broadcasting and electronic media, including cable and new media.

This year's Gala will attract the best and the brightest in radio, television and cable, including Roz Abrams, Anchor, WABC-TV; Aron Brown, Anchor, CNN; Darryl Brown, EVP, ABC Radio Networks; Jane Clayson, Co-Anchor, The CBS Early Show; Jamie Colby, Anchor/Reporter, WPIX-WB 11; Diane English, Writer/Producer, Shukovky English Entertainment; Shauntay Hinton, Miss USA; Dayrn Kagan, Anchor, CNN; Matt Lauer, Co-Anchor, NBC's Today Show; Geraldine Laybourne, Chairman & CEO, Oxygen Media; Jane Pauley, Anchor, Dateline NBC; Caroline Rhea, Costar, Sabrina The Teenage Witch, Summer Sanders, Co-Host NBA's Inside Stuff; Cristina Saralegui, Host, The Cristina Show; Jacki Stiles, 2001 WNBA Rookie of the Year; Mike Wallace, Anchor, CBS 60 Minutes; and many more.

Attending to accept the coveted Gracie Statue will be Individual Achievement winners Jamie Gangel, Correspondent, NBC Today Show; Mary Hart, Co-Anchor, Entertainment Tonight; Carol Marin, CBS 60 Minutes II Correspondent; Emma Thompson, HBO?s WIT; and Paula Zahn, Anchor of CNN. Other winners include Catherine Crier of Court TV; Ricki Lake for the Prevention of Teen Pregnancy PSA; and cast members from "Sex in the City," "Six Feet Under," "The West Wing" and many more.

The black-tie event will feature memorable performances by Epic recording singer/songwriter Tammy Cochran, the most nominated artist at the upcoming Academy of Country Music Awards, as well as Opera great Lindsay Killian, a powerhouse soloist and BMI songwriter. The Julliard School Stringed Quartet will entertain throughout the dinner hour.

The Gracies are presented by the Foundation of AWRT, the philanthropic arm of AWRT that supports and promotes educational projects, public service campaigns, charitable programs and other activities. The Gracies were established in 1975 to honor the positive and realistic portrayal of women in entertainment, news, drama, documentaries, features and new media that are creative and realistic in their recognition and treatment of the roles, issues and concerns of women.

The evening ceremony will begin with a welcome reception at 7:00 pm and seated dinner. The awards ceremony will begin at 8:00pm and will conclude promptly at 10:00pm. Tickets for the event can be purchased at for $175 (AWRT members) , $200 ?(non-members) and $225 at the door. Sponsored tables are available ranging from $5,000 to $10,000.

This event is made possible through the generous support of AT&T ?and from the following organizations: ABC News, Arbitron, CBS News, CNN, HBO, Katz Media Group, Lifetime Television, Paramount Domestic Television, Sony Corporation of America, Prudential, Women's National Basketball Association, Bloomberg, and WABC-TV.

About AWRT: American Women in Radio and Television (AWRT) is a national, nonprofit organization that extends membership to qualified professional women and men, in the electronic media and allied fields. Headquartered in Vienna, Virginia, AWRT's mission is to advance the impact of women in the electronic media and allied fields by educating, advocating and acting as a resource to its members and the industry. Founded in 1951, AWRT has worked to improve the quality of the electronic media; to promote the entry, development and advancement of women in the electronic media and allied fields; to serve as a medium of communication and idea exchange; and to become involved in community concerns. For AWRT membership information, contact (703) 506-3290.

SOURCENews TAGS Country Feature Cristina