Kleban Awards

Posted in News on June 6, 2001

BMI's Musical Theatre department held a cocktail party on June 5 honoring the winners of the 2001 Kleban Award including BMI writer Pat Cook (3rd from left), moderator of the BMI Lehman Engel Musical Theatre Workshop's First Year Class. The Kleban Award for Musical Theatre is given annually by the Kleban Foundation, established in 1988 under the Will of BMI composer Edward L. Kleban, best known for the musical A Chorus Line.

Sharing a toast at the reception are (l-r): David Spencer, who won a Kleban Award in 2000; Kirsten Childs, a 1999 Kleban recipient; Cook; BMI composer and Kleban Foundation president Maury Yeston; and 2000 Kleban winners Jeff Marx and Bobby Lopez.

Photo: Gary Gershoff


The Weekly

Each week, Learn, Listen, Watch, Discover and Share with BMI! From must-see videos, to creative inspiration and dynamic playlists we’re excited about, BMI’s The Weekly is dedicated to delivering specially curated content designed for music creators and music fans alike!

Join BMI Live

BMI Live
Back to Top