Roger Sovine Honored by Recording Academy

Posted in News on December 18, 2000

The Board of Governors of the Nashville Chapter of the Recording Academy� presented its prestigious Governors Award to Roger Sovine at the December board meeting. Sovine, vice president of BMI, was honored for his outstanding lifetime contributions to the music community, the Recording Academy and the Nashville Chapter.

"This award is not given every year. As a matter of fact, the last time it was presented was in 1994 to Owen Bradley and Chet Atkins," said Nancy Shapiro, vice president of the Recording Academy. "The Governors Award is the Nashville Chapter's highest honor and only given when the Governors deem someone truly worthy. It is certainly fitting that Roger has received this award. He has tirelessly given his time, talents and resources to benefit the organization and this community."

Sovine has served as a Nashville Chapter Governor for many years, including four terms as Chapter President, and five terms as Trustee on the National Board of the Recording Academy. He has served on the National GRAMMY� Awards TV committee and as Chairman of Nashville's MusiCares Advisory Council. He is also a Country Music Foundation Trustee, an executive committee member of the T.J. Martell Foundation for Cancer, Leukemia and AIDS Research, a member of the Campaign Cabinet of the United Way of Middle Tennessee, and the Nashville Area Chamber of Commerce Board of Governors. Sovine's career in the music industry began in 1965 at Nashville's Cedarwood Publishing company. Vice president of the performing rights organization BMI since 1985, Sovine's professional affiliation titles have included: Chairman of the Copyright Society of the South, Executive Vice President and board member of R.O.P.E., Director of the Country Music Association, and President of the Nashville Entertainment Association.

"To be recognized by your peers is truly an honor. Working in Nashville's music community and for this organization has been a gratifying experience," said Sovine. "The work that the Academy does enriches our lives on many levels. I am glad that I have been able to be of service."

In addition to Sovine, previous recipients of the Governors Award include Kitty Wells, Wesley Rose, Bill Hall, Roy Acuff, Brenda Lee, Ronnie Milsap, Willie Nelson, Chet Atkins, and Owen Bradley.

Established in 1957, the National Academy of Recording Arts & Sciences, Inc., also known as the Recording Academy, is dedicated to improving the quality of life and cultural condition for music and its makers. An organization of more than 17,000 musicians, producers and other recording professionals, the Recording Academy is internationally known for the GRAMMY Awards and is responsible for numerous groundbreaking outreach, professional development, cultural enrichment, education and human services programs.