R&B Foundation Announces Pioneer Award Honorees

Posted in News on June 22, 2000

The Rhythm and Blues Foundation has just announced the recipients of its prestigious Pioneer Awards. Honorees include BMI legendary songwriters/artists/producers Clyde Otis, Huey (Piano) Smith, Sylvia Robinson, the Chi-Lites and the Impressions.

Huey (Piano) Smith

The Impressions

Clyde Otis

Other Pioneer Award winners include Betty Wright Johnny Johnson and Stevie Wonder, who will receive a lifetime achievement award. There will be a special tribute to Marvin Gaye.

This year's ceremony will take place in New York on September 6 at the Manhattan Center. Smokey Robinson will once again host the event.


The Weekly

Each week, Learn, Listen, Watch, Discover and Share with BMI! From must-see videos, to creative inspiration and dynamic playlists we’re excited about, BMI’s The Weekly is dedicated to delivering specially curated content designed for music creators and music fans alike!

Join BMI Live

BMI Live
Back to Top