Lennon Scholarship Winners Feted

Posted in News on January 6, 2000

Photo: Dana Rodriguez

The BMI Foundation held a luncheon today in honor of the winners of the 2nd Annual John Lennon Scholarship. Established by Yoko Ono in conjunction with the Foundation and Gibson Musical Instruments, the first and second place winners were awarded $10,000 and $5,000, respectively, for Best Song with Original Music and Lyrics. Seen here before the luncheon are (l-r): Berklee College of Music senior Anne Chandler who received the Grand Prize of $10,000 for her song "Just For Tonight"; BMI Foundation President Thea Zavin; and University of Arizona Outreach Choir student David Ragland, the second place winner for his piece "I Don't Have the Blues."