James Blunt Leads BMI’s ‘Beautiful’ Night at Ivors

Posted in News on May 25, 2006
BMI singer/songwriter James Blunt leads the list of winners for the 51st Annual Ivor Novello Awards, held May 25 at the Grosvenor House in London. Presented by the British Academy of Composers & Songwriters in association with the Performing Right Society (PRS), the Ivors honor British songwriters and composers and their contributions to the music industry.

BMI's Brandon Bakshi (center) congratulates brothers Barry and Robin Gibb of The Bee Gees on their 2006 Fellowship Award

Blunt's mega-hit, "You're Beautiful," took home two trophies for Most Performed Work and International Hit of the Year. The angel-voiced singer was also a double winner at the annual Brit Awards held earlier this year.

Scottish newcomer KT Tunstall's "Suddenly I See" was named Best Song Musically and Lyrically, while Damon Albarn and Jamie Hewlett of virtual cartoon band Gorillaz were named Songwriters of the Year.

Special International Award recipient Leon Huff, BMI's Brandon Bakshi and Special International Award recipient Kenneth Gamble

Special Ivors were bestowed upon several legendary BMI artists including the Bee Gees, who received the Fellowship Award, the Academy's highest accolade. Brothers Robin and Barry Gibb were on hand to accept the award, which also honored their late brother Maurice, who died in 2003.

"Sound of Philadelphia" songwriting/production duo Leon Huff and Kenneth Gamble picked up the Special International Award for their vast song catalog that includes such R&B classics as "Don't Leave Me This Way," ""You'll Never Find (Another Love Like Mine)," "Love Train" and "Me and Mrs. Jones."

BMI's 2006 Ivor Novello Award winners:

Best Song Musically & Lyrically
KT Tunstall
"Suddenly I See"

PRS Most Performed Work
James Blunt, Amanda Ghost, Sacha Skarbek
"You're Beautiful"

Best Selling U.K. Single
Jorgen Elofsson
"That's My Goal"

International Hit of the Year
James Blunt, Amanda Ghost, Sacha Skarbek
"You're Beautiful"

Ivors Classical Music Award
Sir Harrison Birtwistle

Best Original Film Score
"Evil" composed by Francis Shaw

Songwriters of the Year
Damon Albarn and Jamie Hewlett of Gorillaz

PRS Outstanding Contribution to British Music
Ray Davies

Special International Award
Gamble & Huff

Fellowship Award
The Bee Gees


The Weekly

Each week, Learn, Listen, Watch, Discover and Share with BMI! From must-see videos, to creative inspiration and dynamic playlists we’re excited about, BMI’s The Weekly is dedicated to delivering specially curated content designed for music creators and music fans alike!

Join BMI Live

BMI Live
Back to Top